Design works in the style of Chinese painting + step by step process (11 photos)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello, friends!

The second part of my story about materials and tools for Chinese painting will be devoted to the design of works. This must be done if you want to hang the picture on the wall.

Rice paper is very thin and crumples during the dyeing process. This paper is necessary to glue the second layer of paper to the picture became dense. In the process of this design, the paper is smoothed, the colors become brighter.

For several years of my training in Chinese painting, I designed the work in the traditional way, using glue and special brushes. I will show you this method on the example of my students ' works, which I prepared for the exhibition. I also want to say that this whole process does not forgive haste, and requires maximum accuracy and concentration, well, experience.

Materials:

  • The finished picture.
    The picture should not only be drawn. It should dry out for a few days. My Chinese teacher advised to wait a week, and then proceed to the design work.

  • A sheet of rice paper.

it should be wider your drawing on 5-10 centimeters on each side. Rice paper is better to use the same as for the pattern, or cheaper. I use roll paper.

  • Two special brushes.

One brush (white) for applying glue, the other (bamboo) for smoothing the picture.

  • Glue for Wallpaper.

Chinese artists make their own glue with water and starch. But my teacher advised to use Wallpaper glue as it protects the painting from mold.

  • Spray with water.

  • Large size Board.

You can use the surface of the table, if you do not plan to use it during the day. I use the furniture Board I bought at the hardware store.

Step by step process

Step 1

First, I prepare the glue. I dissolve in a plastic container dessert spoon of glue and water. I don't have an exact recipe. I'm just looking at the consistency. If necessary, I add more water or glue. It will take about 10 minutes for the glue to swell.

Step 2

Take a picture and put it face down on the Board. After that, spray with water from the sprayer. You need to act carefully, because rice paper is very hygroscopic and you can easily make puddles.

At this stage, you need to make sure that the wet paper does not crumple.

Step 3

Now take a soft white brush and begin to apply the glue to the picture. I start from the bottom and move to the center. From the center I turn to the sides. Do not apply too much force, because the soaked paper may break. If air bubbles appear, they should be carefully removed with a brush to the sides

Glue can go beyond the picture, on the Board

Step 4

I take a blank sheet of rice paper and roll it up. I glue one of the sides of the roll to the picture and start to roll this roll. Brown bamboo brush level the surface of the paper. Roll out the roll should be carefully, slowly, 1-2 centimeters

If air bubbles get between two sheets of paper, they should be removed from the center to the edges.

Step 5

In this step, I step back from the traditional technology. I'm doing what's best for me. But I will write how to do it right - you need to take glued sheets of paper, turn and glue the wrong side on the Board. That's right, when the front side of the drawing dries out.

I don't know how to do it without spoiling the drawing, so I leave the drawing to dry in this position, face to face the Board.

The perimeter of the paper, I coat with glue and glued to the Board

This will ensure uniform tension of the sheet during drying.

Step 6

The picture dries about a day.

Step 7

The next day the picture dried up. I carefully remove it from the Board.

Cutting the jagged edges. Result

The finished picture can be glued to a sheet of cardboard (as in the title photo) and inserted into the frame. I like the minimalist IKEA plastic frames.

Chinese artists give their paintings, thus prepared in specialized workshops. There these paintings are decorated in silk and scrolls.

Recently, there was a special paper with a silicone layer, which will replace the traditional process of registration. About how to make out the work with the help of this paper I told in the post Flowering plum branch in traditional Chinese technique. Step by step: painting + process of compacting rice paper

Thanks for your support and comments!

@veta-less

SB_new.png

#esteemapp
#adsactly

Sort:  

i didn't know about this, i think it could be good to try it once
the result looks cool too, nice idea and process :)

Thank you for your comment) I'm glad you liked it)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Veta-less from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I had no idea that this style of painting was made this way. Thank you for enlightening me on your fantastic work of art!

Thank you for your comment :)

Beautiful post @veta-less ! The process is well documented and the result is SO pretty * ____ * I love the thoroughness of this post, as well, all the materials and techniques are explained well <3

@veryspider Thanks for the comment! I tried to explain it in detail, because I know that this information is difficult to find on the Internet.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Oh wow! I didn't know you know Chinese Painting! When I was younger, my grandmother's house hung tons of these paintings from China that looked exactly like yours!

@zord189 Yes, I was engaged in Chinese painting for several years, and this is the only art that I studied in a group with a teacher. I sometimes write about Chinese painting and show my works :)) Oh, I'm glad that my work is similar to the work of real Chinese artists )))

Ohhh wow. Something new I learn about you. :) I also see a lot of chinese paintings with horses. Haha

Thank you again, this is also question I never knew where to find answer for :) Great and it's really sensitive work described here @veta-less!

@jungwatercolor I'm glad my posts can be useful to you) When I was just starting to learn how to paint on rice paper - then I wondered what to do with these thin transparent paper. How to hang them on the wall? :)

Yes yes, now you resolved all questions I had with this technique and hope in future I will go back to my portraits on rice paper.

This is an amazing process, so fascinating. What I love about such pieces is it is the negative space that is as important as what is there. Balance and harmony :)

@donnadavisart Thanks for the comment! I also love Chinese painting for harmony and white space of the sheet)

Great painting!
If I didn't know I would have thought this was done by a Chinese artist with traditional work.

Hello @veta-less, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks for your support @creativecrypto ! I am very glad that you liked my work. Do you have any special tag or the Discord channel?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63626.14
ETH 3107.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87