Playing with watercolor: my 11 exercises for the study of watercolor

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello, friends!

For a whole month I have been studying watercolor. My passion began with a master class, where I painted watercolor landscape. I really enjoyed it. I wanted to learn the techniques of watercolor painting. Turns out I don't know anything about watercolor paper and paint.

I bought a book by an artist whose work I really liked. I would like to learn how to paint in this style. She's Jean Haines. I fell in love with her watercolors. They are so light, fluid, airy! I read her book "Paint Yourself Calm: Colourful, Creative Mindfulness Through Watercolour" and did the exercises in that book.

I read that Jane studied Chinese painting before she developed her own watercolor style!! I loved it! I thought that I loved her work because I saw something in it in common with Chinese painting - minimalism and white spaces on the sheet. I understand why she paints watercolors without sketches. I think we have something in common.

I'll show you my exercises and tell you about each. I'll also tell you about the paper I used. It was different paper. I wanted to test different brands of paper. I also bought a set of watercolors Sennelier. This honey watercolor famous French brand. Its peculiarity is that it has bright colors and long dries.

So, my exercises on the book Jean Haines "Paint Yourself Calm: Colorful, Creative Mindfulness Through Watercolour"

Exercise 1. Simple landscape

I should have taken my favorite colors. I chose purple, yellow and blue. I moistened the paper and painted the horizon line, then painted the sky and the"earth". After my work dried up, I saw that the horizon line was very similar to a whale. So I did a seascape with a yellow water ))) I took a thin brush and drew the whale's eyes and a fin.

кит.jpg
Fabriano, 25% cotton, 200 g/m, grain fin

Exercise 2. Waterfall

I used different shades of blue. I painted horizontal stripes on a piece of paper, and then applied clean water at the top of the sheet. The water flowed down streams, blurred bands and boundaries. That's what happened.

водопад.jpg

Fabriano, 25% cotton, 200 g/m, grain fin

Exercise 3. Obstacles

First I painted a few circles, and then I wet the paper around. Then I painted over the wet paper. The paint did not flow on the white circles and dry paper. It was a great discovery for me! I also found that if you draw on a piece of paper with clean water and add colors to it, only this place will be painted with water. Watercolor paint does not go beyond the boundaries of wet spots.

It inspired me so much that I painted two works using this technique. It's called painting in the negative. First, I paint the background with water and add colors there. And then paint in white dry places.

водо.jpg
Fabriano, 25% cotton, 200 g/m, grain fin

Exercise 4. Butterfly

I used the most expensive paper I had. The first drawing was a butterfly. I wet in clean water a piece of paper, left a dry spot in the form of a butterfly wing. Then I started adding paint to the wet surface of the paper.

бабочка.jpg

Arches, 100% cotton, 185 g/m, fin

Exercise 5. Flowers

First, I painted the background, which consists of blue shades. It's amazing-watercolor paint flows where it will indicate After it has dried I drew flowers.

цветы.jpg

Arches, 100% cotton, 300 g/m, satin

Exercise 6. Green forest

Here I used several shades of paint - green and yellow. I added a lot of water to the top of the sheet and let it drain down to make green posts. Also in this exercise I used salt and spray technique.

лес.jpg
Palazzo, 70% cotton, 280 g/m

Exercise 7. Meadow flowers

I paint this picture in several stages. First I painted the green grass. I used a brush and a rib of paper to paint the long blades of grass. Then I painted a yellow background to make the picture sunny. I put the film on the green part of the picture and crushed it to get the texture. I also painted orange flowers and put a piece of film on each of them. After drying, the flowers and grass got the texture.

одуван.jpg
Gosznak, 100% cellulose, 200 g/m, shell texture

Exercise 8. Poppy flowers

Poppies are my favorite flowers for drawing. I drew them with great pleasure. Here I used two colors - red and Indigo, as well as salt. I put salt in the heart of the flowers to create texture.

маки.jpg
Fabriano, 25% cotton, 200 g/m, grain fin

Exercise 9. A huge sunflower

Also my favorite flower is sunflower. What a wonderful book!
First I painted the yellow petals and added some flowers for the middle of the sunflower. I put salt in the middle to create the texture. I also created a texture on the yellow petals with a film.

подсол.jpg

Fabriano, 25% cotton, 200 g/m, grain fin

Exercise 10. Lavender

I wanted to try to paint a picture in soft pastel colors. I used diluted colors of brown, pink, green and purple.
лаванда.jpg

Exercise 11. Northern landscape

Here I mixed and played with colors and shades of purple. I think that the winter landscape turned out to be fabulous and unusual.

сияние.jpg

Fabriano, 25% cotton, 200 g/m, grain fin

I finished my first book of exercises. I have the next book. The book has other exercises and drawings. I think that I will continue to study watercolors. I also watch free watercolor webinars.

Cheers
@veta-less

SB_new.png

#creative

#drawing

#painting

Sort:  

Oh wow! Stunning!!! I really enjoyed this post and I think I may also buy that book! My creative outlet is photography but I am rather drawn to watercolors and am greatly intrigued by that negative space look! I’d love to learn watercolor and incorporate it into a mixed media piece! Thanks for sharing! My favorites from above are the poppy flowers, those orange flowers and then the sunflower with those cool textures and the butterfly one <3

@wildwanderer Oh, great! I recommend this and other books by Jean Haines. It's fun and easy. And these exercises help to understand the properties of watercolor paint and are not afraid of it :)

Hello this artwork is featured on the 8th Issue of Steem Sketch Book on this blog : 8 Wonderful Watercolor Paintings

Thank you for contributing the awesomeness of art here on Steemit!
Follow @steemsketchbook for more upvotes, resteems and contests

Отличная работа!

Спасибо! :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Veta-less from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

А мне нравится, минимализм в деталях, а смотрится шедевром!) Круто!

Спасибо, Алина :) Мне эта художница понравилась минимализмом и смелостью при работе с акварелью


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Looks like you're off to a good start! Keep up the lovely work!

Thanks for the comment!

How beautiful! You're so talented and this is inspirational! Thanks for sharing and keep it up!

Thanks for the comment! :)

Fantastic work!!!!!
I love it!

Resteemed too!
The flow is smooth and they all are harmonious and excellent subjects!

Good choice! Thank you for sharing

I'm so glad you liked it! Thanks for the comments and resteem :)

Congratulations @veta-less! This post was selected by the @steemitbloggers community as today's Member Boost Post :) It will also receive a complimentary upvote from @Appreciator throughout the course of the day!

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our Steemit Bloggers FB Page and Twitter feed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93