"Saint-Petersburg. Tone, color and contrasts" + step by step process

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello, friends! I continue to study watercolor painting. I recently found a website with video tutorials. Monthly subscription costs about $ 6 and you can watch any lessons. I liked the work of Russian artist Tatyana Viktorova. I wanted to take the whole mini-course on urban watercolor landscape. The artist tells a lot about the perspective and construction of buildings, colors. I really like her lessons. Yesterday I had another lesson where I drew my hometown - St. Petersburg.


The picture shows a view from the Hermitage across the Neva river. The picture shows the dome of St. Isaac's Cathedral, the Admiralty. Also much attention is paid to the reflection of buildings in the water. I used a limited number of colors-two yellow and three blue shades of colors. I made a lot of mistakes, I think, with the shape of the buildings...color...It was difficult. But my family liked this picture.

IMG_6032.jpg

First, I drew the outlines of the buildings with a pencil. It's got complicated architecture, and I'm a little confused with the roofs. I also realized that I can't draw straight lines without a ruler :)

IMG_20181006_194859.jpg

Then I mixed the palette. Separately shades of yellow, separately shades of blue. I painted over the sky, buildings and reflections in the water with colored spots.

IMG_20181006_205053.jpg

Then I began began in turn to detail the buildings and reflections in the water. Yellow and blue shades mixed up sometimes and it turned out green shades...Oh, my God, the Painting should only be yellow and blue.

IMG_20181006_210833.jpg

I'm sorry I'm not sharp. My phone's not good, and I was painting it tonight. Later I noticed that the photo is not sharp. Here I continued to specify the colors of shadows, buildings.

IMG_20181006_221625.jpg

At the last stage I mixed a very dark blue paint and began to add dark accents to the picture. After that, my picture became brighter.

The picture is ready!

IMG_6032.jpg

I liked to paint, although I'm very tired. The next lessons are rainy London....I wanted to do it today, but I didn't have time. So we'll have to paint in small steps next week.

The drawing is made on the basis of MK https://doodleandsketch.com/lesson-332

Cheers

@veta-less

>

#creative

#drawing

#painting

Sort:  

Practice they say makes perfect, and this is applicable in everything including talents such as drawing, learn from errors and become the best, nice painting, I am a lover of nature painting but thanks for sharing.

@bestgiftс Yes, I need more practice) Thanks for your comment!

Very well done, @veta-less ! I think your watercolours are really lovely and you are improving a lot <3 I love the reflection on the water at the foreground and how the ripples of the surface of the river is so beautifully created by fracturing the mirror image of the buildings <3 GORGEOUS!!!!

Oh, thanks @veryspider ! By the way, I also like the ripples on the water) Although I drew it step by step in the lesson, but still proud that I was able to do it)))

This is excellent @veta-less! You're just the kind of artist I'm looking for for a project.

Here's the summary:

I’m hoping to find artists willing to work on a collaborative project in exchange for Steem. What that looks like exactly is up for discussion.

I’m hoping to put together a visual encyclopedia for my upcoming novel as a companion. What this would entail is doing any number of pieces based on specific commission or a number of writings I’ve released so far, to help establish a visual basis for the world I’m creating.

The pieces would then be hosted on http://incorruptiblebook.com/

Know that I cannot pay by traditional means. The options available to you are either negotiating exclusive right to post, taking a % cut of anything I post that uses your work, or working for free/exposure. I understand if you would prefer to decline.

~ Mako

Thanks for the suggestion. Unfortunately, I'm too busy to participate in your project.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Veta-less from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Wow, i like your watercolour painting, it's cool!

@noemilunastorta I'm so glad you liked my painting. )

Well you have a new follower!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Are you originally from St. Petersburg? That is one of the city that I always wanted to visit. I've heard that it's much more beautiful than Moscow and that it has a lot of European influence.

Your painting is beautiful. This is how I imagine St. Petersburg :)

Thank you for sharing!

@delishtreats Thank you! Yes, I was born in Saint-Petersburg and live here) It's beautiful Yes, but in bad weather it's rainy and gray. Many say it's depressing :))

Because of the canals? I've heard that there are many of them?

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and possibly a resteem too.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

In Proud Collaboration with @steemitbloggers
and their founder @jaynie

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Классный рисунок! Мне очень нравится ваша акварельная техника!:)

Спасибо! Я пока сама только учусь)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99