Speed-Painting the Texas Sunset

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Sorry I haven't been on here in so long!

One of my favorite things to paint are sunsets. That moment when the sun hasn't quite reached the edge of the earth and it creates that beautiful, vibrant neon red color across the clouds.

I've heard that mostly comes from all the pollution in the air. If that's the case, I must say, pollution can be beautiful at times, because it's my favorite part of the day. I believe the reference photo I shot for this came from a road trip somewhere in Texas.

Anyways, here's something I did today in the studio. It was a quick, fun challenge to paint something that could be "done" in one sitting...er...standing.

I enjoyed making this and it shows a bit of my creative process as well, so maybe it might entertain and also inform in a way.

Haven't decided yet if I want to add my surreal sacred geometry to this one yet, and if I do, in what way... what do you think? Let me know in the comments. Is it possible for me to do 1 painting without getting all weird with it?

Time will tell.

Sort:  

Absolutely gorgeous! Love the vibrancy of the colours- and the little bit of performance in your video- great fun to watch! Are you working in oils or acrylics here? If you're called to- go for it and add your geometry - after all, looks like that's your wonderfully unique calling card and a huge part of your style :)

Looking forward to seeing more of your work.

Thank you so much for your thoughts on it! I am going to add something to it if it doesn't sell here soon! Oh, and I'm using only acrylics in this video. I might go over some of the softer blend areas with oils as they are a lot easier for that but I do like the fluorescent colors and haven't seen any fluorescent oils yet..

Hello @vincentfink! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

F’ing amazing! I’m sorry I didn’t catch this when you released it. Hey, Vincent, I have a couple of questions. Are you familiar with steemd.com and steemworld.org? I’ll help you out if you’re not.

What video editing software are you using to do you time lapsing? And , lastly, can you produce art like this on a weekly basis? Bi-weekly? Do you have any sort of schedule that would prevent you from posting work like this, on #steemit, regularly?

I grew up in Los Angeles, the smog makes gorgeous sunsets in green, purple, black, all of the colors, they’re beautiful—just like you painted. Brilliant piece, sir.

Thanks again! To answer your questions:

no, I haven't heard of those but would like to know more.

I use Adobe Premiere Pro... usually... sometimes for a quick one with no effects I use iMovie...

I probably could produce a video like this maybe every other week. I have a lot of art deadlines and shows always approaching so I that tends to prevent me from doing it every week. I guess I should try to for a while and see what happens? Is there an audience for this kind of thing? (Cause it seemed to fall on blind eyes here. ;)

It’s not that eyes are blind, it just takes awhile for people to want to accept, if you’re not rolling in with 1,000+ followers you have to prove yourself around here.

Your content is high quality. I think, this is just my opinion, if you produce a high quality article like this, once a week, give yourself 5 or 6 weeks and you’ll be pleased with the results. Now, when you get to 5-6 months, your results will be pleasantly surprising and you’ll be promoting Steemit everywhere you go.

Https://steemd.com/@vincentfink is your steemd address, check it out. From there you can keep an eye on your resource credits and voting percentage—it’ll become clearer eventually.

Https://steemworld.org/@vincentfink is your steemworld address, I highly recommend learning how to navigate that one. Things like ‘mentions’ and ‘followers’ can’t be found anywhere else. I actually use steemworld as a reference over Steemit.

I’m never that far away, let me know if you need anything.

you are the best! will do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75