DESIGN A CHARACTER CONTEST - Week 1 - Shape Challenge - WIN SBD!

in #art6 years ago (edited)

DAC_cover.png

Hello Steemians,

since I love contests and I am enjoying to check out all these great artists here on steemit, I decided to start a new art-contest. :D

Let me introduce to you the "Design A Character Contest"

The Contest

This contest is open to artists of any level, background and drawing style.
Traditional Art will be accepted as well as Digital art.
Every week I will post a new challenge and want you to design your own character based on the given theme.

Every weeks contest will have one challenge of the following themes:

ThemeWhat is it all about
Shape ChallengeDesign one (or more) character(s) based on one (or more) given shapes
Style ChallengeDesign a character in the style of an given artist or studio
Color ChallengeDesign a character based on a given color sheme
Theme ChallengeDesign a character based on a given theme
Reimagine ChallengeReimagine a given character

Judging

DAC-Judge.png

Contests will begin on Mondays, at which point the theme for the week will be revealed.
On Fridays I will post the top 3 and allow steemit users to vote for the final winner.
Winners will be announced on the next Monday.

What can you win?

I decided to make the prize depending on the success of the contest.
The winners will be announced on Mondays and will be rewarded half of all SBD raised on that weeks #designacharacter contest-posts.
Looking at freaking high of SBD at the moment, I think that´s a good prize.
So keep upvoting and resteeming the contest-posts, to make the price as big as possible ;)

As soon as this contest is successfull, I consider to make fixed prizes.
Additionally I would love to reward the 2nd and 3rd place as well!

The Rules

  • HAVE FUN!!
    That´s the most important thing ;)
  • Upvote and Resteem this post
  • Design a character based on the theme given

  • Make a post of your own for your entry
    Maximum 3 entries/posts per person

  • Make sure to add #designacharacter as one of your tags

  • In your post describe the medium/the process a bit if possible

  • Post the links to your entries in comments of this post, so I can find it.

  • All entries must be submitted before Friday December 22nd at 8PM UTC.

  • No Fan Art
    If it's a character that you did not create it will not be accepted.

  • No Pre Existing Original Characters
    Every artwork must be new.

  • All entries must be original works of art.

Additional Info

If you have suggestions for this contest, or want to be a sponsor and/or guest judge, I´d be happy if you contact me via discord (w0olf#9231) or Steemit-Chat!


So let´s start this now!

This weeks theme is the Shape Challenge:

The Shape Challenge works like this:

I´ll give you one or more shapes.
Based on this shape(s), you design your character(s).
If there are more then one Shape, you can decide which shapes you want to use (from a single one to all).
If you decide to make more then one shape, a bonus will be considered at judging.

Examples:

Given Shape:

DAC_Given_Shape_example.png
sample shape - not the actual shape for this contest

Character designs:

DAC_christina-ly.deviantart.com.png

(via christina-ly.deviantart.com )


The Shapes of this week

Triple up the fun!

Since it´s the debut of this contest, I decided to start the first Shape Challenge with three given shapes, to triple up the fun! ;)

Shape challenge.png

Minor additions to yor characters (e.g. smoke or teardrops) are allowed, as long as they're not connected to the base shape of the character.

You can make three entrys, and since there are three shapes this week,
you can make up to three characters (one for every shape)per single entry.


So I hope you have fun participating in this contest!
I´m really looking forward to your entries!!

showme

If u have any question, feel free to ask in the comments. :)

Have a nice day and steem on!

Cheers,
@w0olf

ruler

footer

Sort:  

Here is my entry :)

And here is my entry post:
busy.org
steemit.com
Good luck all!

Haha they are great!! Thanks for your entry, I really enjoy this :D

It is awesome man! :D Really like it! that first one is quite brilliant haha

Really excellent designs @zneeke. :) I love the fighting turtle. :)

Thanks :)
I'm allowed to do more. I have some good for those as well.

contestSteemi_nb.png

Here's my entry for this one!
The link to my post is here : https://tinyurl.com/yala7vf9
Hope you guys enjoy it ^-^

following you girl! this is an awesome entry, wish you the best!

Looks really great! :) Very nicely painted! :D

Thank you very much :>

Haha niiiice!!

Great job mate, he looks like a bit of a psychological!

So many cool entries! O.O
Here is mine.. I guess ill have to make 2 more..
https://steemit.com/designacharacter/@beekart/entry-for-design-a-character-contest-by-beekart
2017-81.jpg

That's an awesome entry Rogier!
You definitely have to make 2 more! ;)

ill see if i can find the time ;)

Here's my entry!
A wispy robed merchant

5.png

https://steemit.com/dtube/@lunaticmoon/gbzi9lv0

This is a great entry @lunaticmoon! :D Dark as usual ;)

I like this contest, need to find my Wacom and take part. I used to play this on the trains with my friend when spending hours between home and city where I studied.

Here we go, finally finished! Had fun with this one, since I've not tried this technique before. Gl, hf everybody!
wtp_designachar.png
Here's a link to my post about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61593.58
ETH 2950.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49