Creating Almost Street-art..

in #art6 years ago (edited)

The sun is shining and it's time to be a little creative outside.. I appreciate street art a lot and when I was invited by a friend of mine to do some chalk drawings out in the sun I jumped in to try it out.
We found a spot where we could enjoy the warm rays from above while having a little audience, just for the sake of the socializing I think as people came over and talked to us all the time (tbh I was a little startled by the idea of sitting down on the sidewalk in a crowded space while drawing to start with but it turned out to be really cosy).

We were using colored chalk but I have no idea what brand or where it came from, we simply just had a huge bag of all kinds of colors gathered from everything and everywhere, only a little chaotic.. Found a spot on Queen Louise's Bridge in Copenhagen and began our drawing. Now, my friend is really into drawing mandalas so that's was the basis to work from, although I must admit I've never really done that a whole lot.
Guided by her expertise we came up with quite a cool piece if I have to say myself, but judge for yourself down below and leave me some feedback and criticism as usual in the comments (I mean it, leave a comment.. I'm always feeling like I'm talking to myself in here!)

Unfortunately we didn't get to finish it as we had to call it quits, so that will be for a next time :)

20170326_180102.jpg
The almost street art.. we'll finish it next time

I have below included some pictures of the process though unfortunately they aren't too good. Remember it's important when you work with chalk to rub it out to achieve the smooth color and texture, if you just draw with it straight it's not gonna look nearly as good when done.

20170326_170700.jpg
For my next time I'll make sure to make a much better step by step guide

20170326_170640.jpg
It can be really hard to see what you are coloring in straight sun so bring something to cast some shade

20170326_180034.jpg
We already started to do the outlining of the side petals but was running out of time so we decided to add some color to the main part

Spring has really hit Denmark now it seems and the meteorologist has promised up to 20 degrees next week, so go out there steemians and get some fresh air and be creative!

Stay awesome and keep steeming :)

wanderingdanish banner2.jpg

Sort:  

This let me think back at my childhood when we used to do this a lot, but definitely not as good as yours! I woul love to try it back in Holland in the garden

Lol! Youre not talking to yourself here:) actually, youre even doing great! Im not an artist nor art critic but in my opinion that picture is beautiful!!
I dont want to know what mine would turn up as!😄 I never tried chalk art:)
Looking forward to a step by step guide @wanderingdanish!😉🤗

Thanks for the compliments, it's always good with a little ego boost :) you should try chalk one day, it's fun to work with as long as it doesn't rain.. I'll see what I can do with the guide if the weather stays shiny

I remember that time you did it.
I forgot the name of your name though 😂

Hehe you forgot my name? xD

The name of your friend. 😂

Lovely art! I wonder how it would turn out if there was more time. There are times here in our city that we close one of the major roads to vehicles and made it one large canvass for chalk drawing. Everyone is invited to draw.

Yeah that happens here also once per year.. its really cool and it's amazing to see what people can come up with :)

It used to happen once a year here but then whenever there was an event for the road to be used they do give a chance for people to draw on it. Indeed it is amazing walking down that road and see people of all ages go there to draw and be creative.

Oh nice, looks good. It's been awhile since I've done chalk art. 😂 Like more than a decade.

It's really fun and you can get some awesome effects when you blend the colors together.. time to pick up the chalk again :)

Hmmm... Soon I will do that again.

Wow! Good artistic work. keep it up!

Awesome & light

Beautiful street-art. Thanks for sharing my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60166.58
ETH 2964.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79