Putting Together A Digital Collage

in #art6 years ago

fen collage.jpg

I had a lot of questions and comments over various social media about how I created the collages for The Magicians.
If you missed it you can see the series of collages here: https://steemit.com/art/@wildempress/my-journey-into-fan-art-images-time-lapse-editing-video

I had this juggling idea for the character Fen and decided to do my best to document the entire process so that hopefully it would answer some of the questions people had.

I use a mix of elements, photographs, painting, and vintage illustration which I source online. For this image, the curtain and one of the daggers was sourced from https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/

nypl.digitalcollections.510d47dd-e2cc-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99.001.w.jpgnypl.digitalcollections.510d47e3-8fe7-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99.001.g.jpg

I also take photos of items that I own and want to use
_MG_0546.JPG
_MG_0544.JPG
_MG_0542.JPG

I painted the blue background with acrylic paint, it's nothing fancy. IMG_20180508_0001.jpg

When I did the collages of the men I sourced the body poses from https://pixabay.com/ or in Eliots case I drew the body in pencil crayon. But for the women I dressed up and photographed myself in the desired pose.
_MG_0562.JPG
_MG_0560.JPG

By dressing up a mannequin in the same outfit I was more easily able to capture movement in the cape and seamlessly edit it onto the static pose I was holding.
You can check out the shooting process for that here:

Once I had all my elements it was time to put them together in Photoshop. I did make a time lapse edit video of that as well!

I hope this answers some of the questions people had about the process of making my fan art collages!!
On to my next project...I've got about 5 in my head, not sure which one I will pick yet.

What are you working on?

vanessa3.jpg

Sort:  

I always enjoy your work in progress, you seem to have such a patience!

Thanks 😊 I like breaking projects down into steps it’s more manageable and easier to have patience that way

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97