Individuation

in #art5 years ago

I get the sense that it's all building up to something.

IMG_20181009_124657_019_2 (2).jpg

I've been trying to plan less and create more in the moment. The blank page is always daunting but with all things you just have to take the plunge and power through.

IMG_20181108_221522_921.jpg

This painting was like the focusing of a lens. the first 90% of it was all build up. I didn't know where it was going, I just kept adding layers and going deeper.

IMG_20181108_221526_663.jpg

It's mostly busy work, but I enjoy the tedious part of painting because to me it acts as a sort of meditation.

IMG_20181108_221544_156.jpg

A common theme in my paintings is recession. I like the hypnotic aspect of it. It draws the eye in like a spiral. It has become an obsession of mine to make this receding pattern more believable.

IMG_20181108_221548_569.jpg

I took it all a step further in this painting and actually cut a layer out and continued the pattern on another sheet of paper.

IMG_20181108_221554_088.jpg

For this painting I wanted the viewer to question where the illusion begins and where it ends.

IMG_20181108_221557_264.jpg

By the end of it my art table looked like it belonged to an evil scientist creating a terrible creature.

IMG_20181108_221600_556.jpg

Individuation.

IMG_20181009_124657_019_2.jpg

Thanks for viewing! Let me know what you guys think in the comments. I will be posting again Monday,

Stay tuned for more.

william syrus for posting.jpg

Sort:  

You are killing it these days, awesome @william-syrus, looks like you really missed working a lot!

Thanks @jungwatercolor. I can say the same for you, and yes it feels good to be able to paint again.

I love this one very much, @william-syrus.... The cut away paper, ... the painted caves, and that lone bull waiting at the end... Absolutely magical, really, really stunning <3 Your style is a delight <3 <3 <3 (and i love your bulls that keeps reappearing from painting to painting * ___ * )

Thanks @veryspider! And once again, thanks for all the support you send my way :)

Forgetting about the first photo and looking at the first layer of the drawing, I was not expecting that something will eventually come. I thought it's gonna be just layers of a tunnel. But you did make something out of it. And that is very creative to produce such result without planning, draft or sketches first.

It looks like a goat (but the horns do not look like of a goat's. What is it?) is about to come out from a jagged tunnel. From all the layers, what made you suddenly think of putting an animal in the innermost layer?

Thank you :) And it is supposed to be a bull, This is a recurring theme in my paintings. I am not sure of it's symbolic significance yet though.

Oh that's a bull! I guess it's body or overall feature needs to be bigger for it to be more clearly seen as a bull.

Recurring yet symbolic. And you still don't know what it is... Hhmmm… Have you tried soul searching? 😃 Don't you think you're that bull who might suddenly attack? No? Try to close your eyes and imagine what comes next to the story of your painting...

Is that an old bull? Looks Jung to me.

Haha, I see what you did there

NICE :) look my graffiti art work , Im feo COLOMBIA .

howdy sir william-syrus! haha! You created something so cool and interesting with the cut out spiral thing, it looks like it's 3D to me and it's totally unique. I think it's amazing but it looks like it would take a long time to complete such a work?
Anyway it's utterly facinating and congratulations on the well deserved curie!

It's fantastic what you can create with such a simple idea of layering, but with such a brilliant execution of it! Just beautiful!

I've never seen watercolors in real life, but I like the paintings they make with them, I liked the sense of depth you gave them and the animal's touch in the background was great. I liked the range of dark colors you used. Congratulations for your good work.

Thank you @iraidamatheus. You should give watercolors a try sometime, they are quite pleasant :)

I get a sense of oppression and impending danger off of this painting- like the bull is an oncoming train that can't be escaped. The process is incredible too, thanks for sharing!

~ Mako

Thank you @makowrites. That is an interesting take on this painting because this theme of the bull keeps reoccurring in my paintings and I literally can't seem to escape it lol.

I keep seeing your work just for the last couple of days so it looks like you were gone for quite a long time as I've been following the art tag for a few weeks already. Anyway, it's so good that you're back as I love to see your paintings. You are master of layering and creating dark atmosphere. You say that you wanted the viewer question where the illusion begins and where it ends. And this is what you achieved. It's difficult to see and it makes it interesting. I also like that you included the bull (?) in the center. It looks like it is at the end of the tunnel, thinking if it should stay inside or if it is safe outside.

Great painting! Congratulations on your curie vote!

Thank you @delishtreats. Yes i've been away for a few months now, and yes it is a bull :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64111.27
ETH 3065.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00