You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cold cold war warrior

in #art5 years ago

I love it! Given that 90% of phone calls now involve unsolicited sales pitches, I think the expression is perfect.

Do you do all your graphic arts with open source tools? Photoshop is the last thing tying me to Windows and I'm dying to ditch it. But Gimp is just not there yet.

Sort:  

I only use open source software, but I agree that GIMP is very far from Photoshop in quality and the development is very slow. As I mostly make graphics and art for the screen I have been able to use Inkscape and Krita, both of them much better tools than Gimp (and that name never was the same after Pulp Fiction). I do use Gimp for simple operations and batch operations. Crop, resize, colour correction etc. but most of the tools in Krita are better and more intuitive. The transformation tolls for example.

When it comes to repro you won't be able to do anything useful in open-source. Adobe and Pantone have a de facto monopoly through its patented colour technologies. So I have to see the colour corrections on adobe software before printing anything that is not greyscale.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62120.17
ETH 3179.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75