5 Possible Book Covers—Which Would *YOU* Choose?

in #art6 years ago (edited)

41kE7LVtdOL.jpg

leaf flourish.png

Recently, I published a book of conversations, The Artist as Mystic, along with a writer I admire but have never met, Alex Stein. Alex and I became friends when he was editing an anthology of modern aphorists and asked me to submit my work. We kept in touch, thrilled to discover we shared a similar taste in books and, one day, embarked on a our own unusual project. I would speak to him over the phone, for hours on end, about my literary and philosophy masters at the time, and he would record the conversations. Then, as he was transcribing them, Alex would take the liberty to edit, polish and slightly rewrite some of my responses to try and make them sing, give them wings.

Here's how our publisher, eventually, described our strange book of assisted monologues:

The Artist as Mystic is a set of lyric conversations between aphorists Yahia Lababidi and Alex Stein. These conversations constitute what Australians call a ‘Songline’—a set of sacred songs that allow the reader/listener to navigate through an unknown terrain, in this case, populated by tortured and ecstatic souls: Kafka, Baudelaire, Nietzsche, Rilke, Kierkegaard and Ekelund.

One thing our publisher also did, which is not common practice, is he let us choose among five book covers. I remember my heart leaped the morning I received the proposed sketches for our cover—indecisive, glutton for Beauty that I am and debauchee of cover artist, Egon Schiele; I loved them all! Below, is the embarras de choix (embarrassment of choices, as they say in French) that I was confronted with :)


1.jpg

2.jpg


3.jpg


4.jpg


5.jpg
thick line.png
Because, I found it near impossible to choose just one, our publisher was kind and indulgent enough to let us have two: the first image in this post we used for the Kindle edition and the one, below, for the paperback book:


51b5xauFEyL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
7C458D82-B265-4AB1-B01D-348B8330832B.png

For those who might be interested, here’s the video trailer for The Artist as Mystic


Sort:  

I liked the second one the best, but I think it's just gnarly that you got to pick a cover for another published novel! You lucky duck! You deserve it, but still :P

Haha, gnarly is a funny word :) Yes, counting blessings & grateful for the encouragement & support of new Steemit friends, such as yourself ✌🏼

I like 2 and 4 because the text stands out better on a background that is all one color. Just my opinion and everyone knows I have no art sense, just tend to look at things more functionally. :)

I do think you made the right choices, and I can see that they are very artistic. Best wishes on this book, and thanks for the one you sent me via email recently; much appreciated!!!

Interesting choices, I think they were my publishers, too! Text, background, color & functionality are all important decisions, too.

Very happy to hear you’re enjoying my book of short poems and ever grateful for your warm encouragement, kind Kenny :)

You picked the two I would have chosen too!
It's great to hear this positive experience with editing and publishing as compared to your post a week or so ago about the editor that trampled on your work. Very lovely! I'm also super pleased you have a real artist for your book covers. I know that sounds an odd thing to say, but I see a lot of self-published writers (I know you are not) that do not invest in good cover art and it's really important.

That’s all very gratifying to hear (as I, sometimes, wonder if I made the right choice). I know what you mean about the importance of cover art, and would go so far as to say that: you can judge a book by it’s cover :)

Congrats on the positive experience with your editor, they must value your work highly. I would have picked #2 and #5, but would have changed the red text in number 2 to something with better contrast.

Good point about the font. It’s, certainly, a gripping piece of art, rich and complex. But, ultimately, I thought it was a touch too busy for the book cover and went in favor of simplicity.

Thanks, for sharing your thoughts & the words of encouragement

Quite like the one for the kindle edition but I would have gone with the one where the fellow is turning is back. Egon certainly as wonderfully unique style.

For some reason, I really relate to that wiry, nervous energy in Schiele’s lines. I think Alex also like the same one you chose. But I didn’t want to frighten off easily-alarmed readers with a derrière on the cover (and also wanted to preserve artist/mystics’ dignity)! 😀

Ah yes ... some people get antsy when there is a full moon. Honestly ... this lass was drawn to the shoulder lines:)

Haha... This lass has fine, discerning eyes 👌🏼

I like the second one but that red text doesn't work.

Egon Schiele is a great artist! Congrats on the choice of the book cover. Personally, I prefer the second

2.jpg

Thanks, that second one seems popular :)

#2 and #5 jumped out at me. But, I like the choices you made. The text in two was pleasing to the eye, as was the backside shot. Very intriguing. I have no reason for five other than the appeal that it had for me.

Good luck!!

Many thanks, for sharing & kindness 🙏🏼

I like the black cover, so actually the fifth one. I didn't know that you are a writer. Well I am new here and still discovering
😬

Haha... It’s right there in my bio, top of the page ;)

Congratulations @yahialababidi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99