How to Paint a Lake and Countryside Scenery | Step by Step Tutorial | Oil Pastels Artwork

in #art5 years ago

Steemit thumbnail 2.jpg

Hello dear Steemians! Today, I would like to share a detailed tutorial on how to paint a Lake and Countryside Scenery using oil pastels. I actually had something a little different in my mind but I went with the flow after I started to paint and didn't care much about perfection.

Tools and Materials

  • Buncho oil pastels
  • A good quality artblock that is durable
  • Tissue to clean your fingers in case you use the smudging technique
  • A 2B pencil to draw

Step by Step Tutorial

P_20190410_005230_HDR.jpg

This is a basic drawing of my artwork. I just wanted to roughly know the positions of the details of my painting before I get started.

P_20190410_010202_HDR.jpg

I wanted to paint from the top areas to bottom areas of the artwork. So, I began with the mountains first. I used the lightest colour I will be working with which is white and painted the right rocky parts to create some highlighted parts on the mountains.

P_20190410_010503_HDR.jpg

Next, I painted some sand yellow on the mountains. I did paint over some white areas that I painted earlier as well while leaving out the rest.

P_20190410_010813_HDR.jpg

I painted some prussian blue on the shadowy areas of the mountains. I wanted to blend it with other colours and create a different shade of blue as well, so I didn't paint it all the way.

P_20190410_011632_HDR.jpg

I mixed some lavendar (light purple) to create a deep periwinkle (a bluish purplish colour). I didn't have it in my collection so I mixed the two colours to create it.

P_20190410_012416_HDR.jpg

I painted the sky next using some royal blue and sky blue. I also added some yellow and used almond green (whitish green) as my transition colour to blend the blues with the yellow without mixing them. I added some white to the almond green too. It is important to use a transition colour when you use two primary colours so that you don't end up creating a colour that you don't want on your masterpiece.

P_20190410_013026_HDR.jpg

Then, I moved on to paint the furthest grass area with some olive green and yellow.

P_20190410_013701_HDR.jpg

Next, I painted some trees using some pine green and forest green. I also added some prussian blue to emphasize on the darker parts of the trees.

P_20190410_014420_HDR.jpg

I painted the lake using some sky blue and royal blue. I added streaks of white and some green as well to create a ripple effect but not too much because lake is usually made of still water and not flowing water like a river.

P_20190410_022405_HDR.jpg

Then, I painted the grass area around the cottage of my artwork in some forest green and light green.

P_20190410_023418_HDR.jpg

I lined the edges of the lake using purple to create some depth. Then, I painted the cottage in mustard yellow for the wall facing the the people who are looking at the picture because this part must be the brightest. I painted some yellow ochre on the other wall so that it looks darker than the first. Then, I painted the windows in yellow and lined them with red. I also added some burnt sienna for the roof and lined the cottage with raw sienna and walnut brown.

P_20190410_025014_HDR.jpg

After that, I painted some bushes using a few shades of green like forest green, light green and olive green by mostly tapping on the paper. I also used some prussian blue and yellow for the darkest and lightest areas respectively. Then, I painted a little path to get to the lake and some garden areas comprising of pink flowers using many upward strokes to add more colours.

P_20190410_025747_HDR.jpg

I painted another part of the lake using the same colours I used earlier. I also painted some shadows of the bushes and flowers on the surface of water.

P_20190410_030651_HDR.jpg

I painted the rest of the artwork which is the closest grass area and some pink flowers. I used some olive green, yellow, pink, rose and magenta.

P_20190410_031231_HDR.jpg

I added more pink flowers because I wasn't satisfied with the previous amount of flowers.

P_20190410_032316_HDR g.jpg

I added more flowers on the opposite side of the lake too. This time, I used some vermilion red and crimson as well. This is the completed artwork. I hope that you find it helpful in case you plan on making an oil pastel painting. Thank you for reading my post and have a great day ahead!

If you like this post, please upvote and leave your feedback below.

If you would like to see more posts from me, follow me.
Stay tuned! xx

bitmoji-20190313060146.png


Click the Images to View My Recent Posts:

Beautiful Rose in My Little Garden


How to Paint Calla Lilies | Step by Step Tutorial | Oil Pastel Artwork


ColorChallenge Thursday Green : Yummy Watermelons


How to Paint a Wolf Howling in the Moonlight | Step by Step Tutorial | Oil Pastels Artwork


How to Paint a Mountain Scenery | Step by Step Tutorial | Oil Pastels Artwork


Layered Leaves Digital Painting | My First Digital Artwork from Scratch | GIMP


How to Paint Water Lily | Step by Step Tutorial | Oil Pastels Artwork


steem artists with tag.png

If you are an artist, do join the Steem Artists Discord Community if you haven't ☻


bitmoji-20190118051733.png

Follow me: @yashny

My Dtube Channel: Yashny

About me:

I'm a chill, happy go lucky person. I am a feminist. I love food, art, books, numbers, psychology and occult science. I am in the process of healing and diving into spirituality. I think life is a gift and we should appreciate the little things of life more. Everything that I post is a little piece of my life. I believe that everyone is carrying their own cross, so don't judge anyone and be kind!

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Thank you for your support and encouragement
♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Sort:  

Another wonderfully lovely drawing, @yashny :D I really like the bright and happy colours and the composition is pleasant, as well :) The house seems really peaceful, at the center of all wonderful nature and lake <3 Good step by step presentation, as usual ! <3 <3 <3

Thank you so much @veryspider ❤ I'm glad that you noticed the setting in nature. It is like my dream place to live =)

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60463.70
ETH 2889.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59