How to Paint Calla Lilies | Step by Step Tutorial | Oil Pastel Artwork

in #art5 years ago

Calla Lily Steemit Thumbnail.jpg

Hi dear Steemians! Today, I would like to share a tutorial with the description of my method on how to paint calla lillies using oil pastels.

Tools and Materials

  • Buncho oil pastels
  • A good quality artblock that is durable
  • Tissue to clean your fingers in case you use the smudging technique
  • A 2B pencil to draw

Step by Step Tutorial

P_20190406_011559_HDR.jpg

First of all, I drew a basic shapes of two calla lillies with a normal 2B pencil.

P_20190406_012238_HDR.jpg

Then, I started my painting with the lightest colour I picked to use which is white. I painted it on the highlight areas to protect them in advance. I am not sure if you can see it in the picture but I am attaching it anyway :D

P_20190406_012634_HDR.jpg

Next, I added some yellow as a base from the sepal all the way to the peduncle areas and the edges of the stems.

P_20190406_013118_HDR.jpg

Then, I painted some light green on the middle areas of the parts where I painted yellow earlier. I also added some of the green underneath the petals.

P_20190406_014111_HDR.jpg

I added another green which was darker than the previous one to emphasize further on the green areas. I also added more yellow on the edges of the stems of the flowers to create mild highlights.

P_20190406_021504_HDR.jpg

Then, I began to paint the flowers using the lightest pink that I have.

P_20190406_022016_HDR.jpg

I added the rose pink to add more colour and vibrance to the flowers.

P_20190406_022718_HDR.jpg

I painted the darkest pink that I have to add some shadows on the flower petals.

P_20190406_023551_HDR.jpg


Then, I added some sand yellow colour to create some light areas. I thought that it might be too dull if I use white alone to do it. I also added some red to create more shape and add to the shadows on the flowers.

P_20190406_023945_HDR.jpg

The red wasn't enough for the shadows, hence, I painted a small amount of black and purple and blended them into the other colours with some pink and red.

P_20190406_030415_HDR.jpg

I added some maroon and red on the flowers to balance up the light and the dark colours. I also added some golden brown on the stem and sepal areas to add some shadows.

P_20190406_032306_HDR g.jpg

I made some minor adjustments like adding more green and yellow on the stem. I also added white on certain areas on the flower. Lastly, I painted some almond green (whitish green) and two different shades of light blue on the background. I blended them by going back and forth with the colours to mix them well. I chose to add the almond green around the flowers instead of going all the way with the blue shades so that the reds of the flowers will stand out a little more especially the edges. This is the finished painting. I hope that you enjoyed reading my post and have a great day/evening ahead xx

If you like this post, please upvote and leave your feedback below.

If you would like to see more posts from me, follow me.
Stay tuned! xx

bitmoji-20190313062719.png


Click the Images to View My Recent Posts:

ColorChallenge Thursday Green : Yummy Watermelons


How to Paint a Wolf Howling in the Moonlight | Step by Step Tutorial | Oil Pastels Artwork


How to Paint a Mountain Scenery | Step by Step Tutorial | Oil Pastels Artwork


Layered Leaves Digital Painting | My First Digital Artwork from Scratch | GIMP


How to Paint Hibiscus | Step by Step Tutorial | Oil Pastels Artwork


Sandy Beach Resort Review | Room and Resort Tour | Pulau Pangkor (Pangkor Island), Malaysia


My Vacation in Pulau Pangkor (Pangkor Island), Malaysia


How to Paint Water Lily | Step by Step Tutorial | Oil Pastels Artwork


steem artists with tag.png

If you are an artist, do join the Steem Artists Discord Community if you haven't ☻


bitmoji-20190118051733.png

Follow me: @yashny

My Dtube Channel: Yashny

About me:

I'm a chill, happy go lucky person. I am a feminist. I love food, art, books, numbers, psychology and occult science. I am in the process of healing and diving into spirituality. I think life is a gift and we should appreciate the little things of life more. Everything that I post is a little piece of my life. I believe that everyone is carrying their own cross, so don't judge anyone and be kind!

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Thank you for your support and encouragement
♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Sort:  

This is another lovely oil pastel tutorial from you, @yashny :) I like the colours! They came out very lovely and vibrant <3 Really like your step by step presentation, as usual, as well <3

Thank you so much for the sweet comment @veryspider ❤❤❤ I am happy to know that you like my work 🍁

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94