The Green Fairy (La Fee Verte) my Steampunk illustration, WIP and background story

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Priscilla Hernandez Green Fairy drawing - by Priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com).jpg

Above, my illustration "The Green Fairy"

This is my own drawing "La Fee Verte" just because it's Thursday Green and I usually do the #colorchallenge but this week I decided to for an art post instead. In this article you will find some background story about this drawing and also the pencil sketch and some close ups at the end. Most of you know me because of my music but I'm encouraged to share some of my artworks as illustrator as well.

So what is Steampunk?

Steampunk is an anachronic (alternative History) or retrofuturistic sci-fi/fantasy genre inspired in XIX industrial steam powered machines like those depicted in Jules Verne, or H.G. Wells (writers that I particularly love). Steampunk has become a fashion trend too among cosplayers (people who dress up in elaborate costumes) in fantasy conventions worldwide, featuring often victorian fashion, corsets, goggles and ornaments with gears mimicking pieces of machinery and gadgets.

Here a picture of me in Steampunk fashion with my rat Tuula both in "Steampunk fashion"

Me and my rat Tuula wearing mini goggle in Steampunk fashion. I made the fascinator inspired by my own drawing.

La Fee Verte: What is Absinthe? A little background story... Myth, fantasy and reality!

La Fee Verte ( The Green Fairy) is often related with the mysterious highly alcoholic and green beverage Absinthe, that was very popular in XIX century. The liqueur was made of anise, and several culinary and medicinal herbs including fennel and flowers and leaves of Artemisia absinthium (grand wormwood).
Of course I would not have tried it (I do not drink alcohol) but I like fairies and it seems a very popular Steampunk reference nowadays.

Absinthe was in fact banned from many countries as a powerful hallucinogenic. It was rather cheap and lower classes abused the green coloured liquor which colour was enhanced with copper sulfate and antimony trichloride which could cause copper toxicity and antimony poisoning, and thus cause hallucinations (and green fairies of course, who were reported to be seen during to those hallucinations, to inspire you or as a luring you to grab your soul).


Above: Promotional Poster by Privat Livement (1896). Public Domain.

So as you see the concoction was kind of dangerous back then as lots of psychoactive substances and toxic chemicals were added to it, in fact it could even trigger epilepsy.

The current (and legal) Absinthe has little to do to the poisonous mixture that drove so many tormented poet and artists a little bit crazy... pursuing the "green fairy" to achieve inspiration.

Said this I take the chance to say... you don't need such tricks to be inspired anyway ;-) but I find the story fascinating... So I stick to the fantasy element of the fairy itself :)

I must say I don' t usually make drawings based in this sub-genre of fantasy. I am more into more Nature inspired work, but I have many friends that love and even organize conventions and thus I felt challenged to try and I made a couple of illustrations.

Some details of my drawing

green fairy sketch  - by Priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com).jpg

Here is the pencil sketch, some corrections were made to fix the proportion as I wanted to change her proportions a bit as if she were more childish or "smaller" at least, and redo the staff or walking stick and shoes. The rest remained more or less the same. I didn't intend her to be "realistic" but more like a cartoon character.

The drawing was painted digitally on the computer but I did not have a monitor tablet back then, so it was quite changeling. I usually paint with watercolours, colour pencils and acrylics but this one was coloured with the computer.

And a detail of the face. I loved making the freckles and and add a vivid green colour to her eyes. I designed the garments as something I would do to cosplay myself and in fact I built a replica of the feathered fascinator hair piece after I made this drawing which is the one you can see in the portrait of me and my rat above in this article.

Priscilla Hernandez Green Fairy drawing - by Priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com)-2.jpg

Here another detail of the clothing... I love dragonflies so I include them often... for any reason lots of Steampunk fashion includes dragonfly motifs too.. so double match.

Priscilla Hernandez Green Fairy drawing detail - by Priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com).jpg

This illustration is (c) to me Priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com). All Rights Reserved.



Priscilla Hernandez
singer-songwriter & illustrator
http://yidneth.com

Sort:  

Yidneth, i definitely second Serena's words! your work is so good! i love the details and the colors! also are you familiar with the art of Olivier Ledroit? He's an amazing illustrator, and he also mizes a lot of fidderent styles - steampunk - fantasy - vampires - samurais :)

also I love your little ratty with the gaggles! ❤️ too cute!!! made my teeth grind lol

Thanks Anka, coming from youit is a huge compliment. Aww, I will check... Yes Tuula was a sassy one.

She is a pretty fairy, Yidneth, I also like the green colour you used for the art.

You have a cute helper, Tuula, I like the name :). Is it a girl or a boy?

Aww She was a girl... My fufunchis are gone now (old age) but she was soooo amazing! I will have ratties again for sure, they are the sweetest. Thanks for the compliment.

I love this artwork a great deal! You have some truly awesome gifts... and the love of SteamPunk is phenomenal. Discord me and I'll send you a free e-book copy of my SteamPunk novel (1st in a Trilogy) for you to read.

Ah thanks, my user is discord is the same if you want to send. I do not usually work on steampunk designs, though I did a commission for a novel and I have cosplayed with my friends in events. I am usually into fae / spectral fantasy, but it was fine to explore new genres.

Oh I completely understand! I've been a great admirer of Fantasy novels and artwork my entire life. I generally write in the Fantasy genre, but the last few years I have been extending myself and my first published Novel (the one I'm sending you now) is in SteamPunk. Since you seemed to have an interest, I just thought that you might enjoy reading it. My wife made the cover art (I'll send that image as well so that you can see the actual book). You are very good at what you do and I admire that.

Great, I will check definitely 💚

Wow.....what a beautiful painting! I love the combination of red hair and green clothes.

Thank you, this one was intended to have a "cartoonish" style more than realism, so the colours are also on the vibrant side :) thanks very much for checking :)

Very welcome ❤️

I love that art! 💚
But Tuula is adorbs!!!! 😍
I've always wanted to write a Steampunk story but it's still on the shelf. Also; your clothes are amazing and as a LARP-er I never tire of dressing up either. 😉

Awww she was :( my fufunchis are gone now to the other side of the rainbow and wait for mum with my dog Kira... but that doesn't mean they're not present... they are everyday, through my pics, my work and music... and hopefully song I'll have ratties again... meanwhile I plague you all with ratty pics hahahah :)
LARP-er LOL hahaha I sort of sensed (third eye ahhaha). I am the mega-geek, most of my concerts are related with fantasy and comic conventions anyway XD and I dress prettty much elven everyday hahaha XD. Rpg, comics, movies, books... fantasy? you name it :)... btw I just heard your cover on Dlive :) weeee (beautifuuuul)

Awwww, I truly hope you will have special little ones again. I know what it's like to lose beloved pets and also close family. I love your ratty pics, so keep 'm coming! And when you have new babies I'd love to see them. I know I'm crazy about my four cats and show them off any chance I get. 😉

Yup... been doing it since 1997 and now not so often anymore but you kinda get stuck to the people you meet on events. Some have become close friends and I even met hubby on a Larp.

I bet! If I could pick a stage to perform I'd pick those venues because the people are so enthusiastic and accepting.
Thanks! Yes, I thought I might upload the song there as well but I didn't know it would make an automated post on Steemit.
I learn every day.😄

Lovely pictures

Thank you, cleaning my desktop cos It's gonna be a time for painting these months again :)

Today is safe, just green anise and herbs... But I would take it cautiously lol

You're a hot fairy...er...that fairy is hot lol!

I wish I were a freckles redhaired cute petite-frame green fairy...
but I am what I am and I'm happy to be
but we "both" accept the compliment :)

She's wonderful. If she'd be real, I would ask you to introduce her to me.
You are multi-talented, my friend.
steemsig.png
Joe
@joe.nobel
science fiction, fantasy, erotica

Aww, thanks, hope you liked the CDs, well as the story says up there the myth of The Green Fairy is not as mystical as I'd like it to be.
I like a more mythical and mysthical approach to fae, but this was just a cute and fun exercise.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you very much for the consideration, manual review and curation is what it should be always, and I'm really honoured someone considered interested enough. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86