How to make food photography intresting!

in #art6 years ago

Hello photographers and food photo lovers. How do we make food photogenic? I mean really? It's only food for god sake right?

Well most photography must draw the viewer into the image. And it must have a main subject or theme. Sometimes the subject can be color or repetition, Contrast or movement.

Movement? how can we show movement in a single image? Well it is very easy. As I was throwing away an old fish tank an idea grabbed me. So I went out and grabbed an orange and a few lemons from my trees. Filled the tank with water and took a photo. Not good. Something was missing movement. So I started to drop the lemons into the tank changing my shutter speed with each shot.

I saw movement but it did not grab me that much. So what else grabs your attention I thought. Color! So I taped a colored paper to the back of the tank and WOW what a difference. Now I have two attention grabbers color and movement. Now I need to get a great composition. But how you may ask. With Trial and Error of course. I Took 20 or so photos trying to time the dropping of the fruit and taking the timed shot. And then finally I had a few that I liked.

This mindset of taking an image and improving upon it, is what makes good photographers into great photographers. You are teaching yourself all the skills you need to become a great artist. And as you change things on one subject, new ideas come to you that you will want to try later.

Hopefully this will inspire and remind you to ask a few question when you have a good idea but it needs something more to grab your viewers eye into your image. Just a few small changes will make all the difference in your work. Let me know what you think in the comments below. Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65