Bugbot (Tentatively)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art5 years ago (edited)

thumb2x.jpg

I wanted to make a triad of bots, that were all friends and everything. I thought I could manage to finish them in one or two days. But nah. I managed to sketch them barely in two days, in part because I'm super rusty sculpting and in part because I've been fairly busy.

So I started by making random shapes. I did a lot of warming up, but every time I finished a sketch I deleted it. They were not cool... not even decent. From the first day I just saved these:

c2.jpg
These guy I really liked. I shall refine it good later alone... He deserves it.

c3.jpg
The bug one. Which is the only one I finished detailing.

c4.jpg
The ray.

And the second day I came up with this:

c5.jpg
The guy-like.

The last two I hope to finish them in the weekend. So the triad could look like this:

c1.gif

But finished like the Bugbot (name subject to change).

The way I make these is by having the base shape and then cutting my way through it. This is the best I can do to illustrate the process:

c6.gif

Here you can see all the parts I separated, split and cut.

The process is kind of like drawing. Just have to be careful because the way you cut have to do with the camera position and the orthogonal projection of the shape you're gonna cut off from the object.
Σ( ̄。 ̄ノ)

This is what I mean:

c7a.jpg
Do you see that trapezoid shape? It is about to be cut off from the sculpting.

And the lines and carvings over the surface:

c8.jpg
These are achieved by sort of drawing over the surface. With much care. All that little lines are done like this little one here. The yellow line is the tool I used, you point the starting point of a straight line and then move the cursor where you need the ending point of the line. Is the yellow thingy over there.

And the base shape is accomplished by pulling out and pinching almost always a sphere.

c10.gif
Like so.

c9.gif
And so on.

A couple of shots of the bug:

c12.jpg
Front.

c11.jpg
Rear. I see here a pride face...

Far from finished because those are not the final colors, materials, camera-lens, angles, lighting, etc... but fresh as a lettuce.

Also he has to be accompanied by his friends guy-likebot and raybot.

Sort:  

Congratulations @znkd! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 500

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

All three of them look amazing😊 I like the shape of the bug, it looks like a little heper with all the legs and equipment. I am looking forward to see the rest finished😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! I just finished them sculpting yesterday, now I'm struggling with rendering them. Files are devouring all the RAM of my computah. But gonna post them soon :)

I am looking forward to see them:)

Hehe a trio of bugbots? And they're friends who go everywhere together? That's pretty cute.

I like how shapely they look like, the big red eye looks pretty ominous. It would be scary if they got hacked by bad people.

Hopefully nobody will find harmful use in them. They're not equipped with weapons, just research dispositives, like for topographic mapping, various light-spectrum cameras and a sample teleporter? hahah.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake-chocolate-pastry.png

Manually curated by @scrawly.

Thanks :D I always see these cakes and I wish I could have a tasty bite.
( ̄﹃ ̄)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks :)

I don't know why but something about the beginning pic you made on the first day, makes it look like it has abs fdjsdfkg

Also what a good bot! I feel like patting it

Hahhah that sketch certainly looks like it have weird abs.
It's nice you feel like patting the bug bot, its kinda cute. Now, its final name is ObserverBot
(⌐■_■)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99