Spaceship vycer m-32 process

in #art5 years ago

main.jpg

For this I wanted to do something in the vein of technical drawing. First my intention was to do something very sketchy and in black and white. But things were morphing to this -cyberpunky-synthwave-something- feel:

vycer-m32-color-c.jpg

Full Res

I sometimes use 3D models or sculptures of man-made-heavy-in-perspective objects to help with angle shot and perspective. I had this 3D sculpture:

c1.png

This was sculpted in an application called 3D Coat (which is voxel based) except the "feet" or supporters. Those where done in Blender. I imported the sculpture, added some things like the feet and the ground and moved the camera around looking for a nice perspective. Took 3 shots. The first one is the picture above this paragraph and the other two these:

c2.png

c3.png

Added the screenshots to photochops and began tracing lines over the model image to give form to details.

c4.png

Then I adjusted the brightness/contrast and painted over it following the details' forms.

c5.png

I did the same for the other two shots, side and rear.

Screen Shot 2019-02-11 at 12.25.58 AM.png

Then added this image of the wireframe of the 3D model. Wireframe means you can see all the edges that form the model... Like if it was x-ray vision. x_x

Screen Shot 2019-02-11 at 12.16.11 AM.png

I thought it would be cool to show the parts inside the ship that generate power. I changed the hue of some parts and added some lines to it. Like an electrical/electronic grid.

Screen Shot 2019-02-11 at 12.23.44 AM.png

Because I added some colors, I thought "what if I put a couple of color gradients on top of the grey-scale drawing?" So I added the gradients on top of all the layers except the wireframe one, I liked those colors as they were.

Screen Shot 2019-02-11 at 12.32.07 AM.png

I repeated the gradients pass but only over the ship. With a different setting on the layer's blending mode.

Screen Shot 2019-02-11 at 12.34.03 AM.png

I wanted to show technical information, like specs or something about the ship. But it would be a pain to write something credible or appealing word-wise. Me not good with words. So I made the following:

1 - I copy-pasted a lorem ipsum paragraph.

Screen Shot 2019-02-11 at 12.49.09 AM.png

2 - Erased the top and bottom parts of each line.

Screen Shot 2019-02-11 at 12.51.28 AM.png

3 - Made smaller the space between each sliced line.

Screen Shot 2019-02-11 at 12.54.03 AM.png

4 - Copy-pasted chunks of this blob of nonsense at will. Also painted this lines that pointed to a part of the ship.

Screen Shot 2019-02-11 at 12.59.29 AM.png

5 - Repeated all but with bigger text to simulate like titles or important text.

Screen Shot 2019-02-11 at 1.04.36 AM.png

The lines of the ship drawing were plain dark until this point where I colored them a bit to make them more integrated to the overall palette.

Screen Shot 2019-02-11 at 1.10.18 AM.png

All vehicle concept needs some human figure standing next to it so you can imagine the size of it. That's why these little green guys appeared.

Screen Shot 2019-02-11 at 1.30.14 AM.png

I added in the end -in a subtle manner- a couple of text lines: the name of the ship and the date I finished the drawing.

Screen Shot 2019-02-11 at 1.16.06 AM.png

Screen Shot 2019-02-11 at 1.15.58 AM.png

Added noise and lens correction filters to add grunge.

That's the story of vycer m-32 spaceship and how it came to be as it is.

Oh yes, I tried to de-saturate the colors to give it a grey-scale look I had in mind at first.

Screen Shot 2019-02-11 at 1.34.15 AM.png

I wanted to upload this through ntopaz but got intimidated by the post interface. I'll try it another time with a less extent post.

Also I wanted to translate each paragraph to Spanish... but didn't think it would be such a long post.. And I'm sleeping.

Sort:  

Very detailed. Looks like something you wanna build yourself. Nice work.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! At least I would like to have a detailed scaled model. Hand painted perhaps.

Woow nice design and artwork 👍👏

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks man!

Wow. That's amazing!

Can I ask you how long it took you to complete this process? and that you noticed that when you do a job, creativity always comes to light, right?

You had as objective to realize it in black and white and everything was given to you as you were realizing this design.

By the way I also liked the part of the x rays hahaha...

Tardé entre 6 y 8 horas... quizás un poco más. La verdad no estoy seguro.

and that you noticed that when you do a job, creativity always comes to light, right?

You had as objective to realize it in black and white and everything was given to you as you were realizing this design.

¡Claro! Es como decía Bob Ross "happy accidents".

Abrazos hermano.

Woooooooooooow

THIS is what you were working on as we were chatting????

Geez loooouiisseee, zeen, you are amazing :D Love this so much ! I think you really nailed that pretend-technical spec look with the finished piccar <3 The futuristic gibberish text also looks great and snazzy and definitely adds to the feel of the sci-fi blue print vibes...

Next time we are chatting, just tell me to shut up when you need to concentrate XD

Love your stuff, Zeen !!!! \o/

HAhaha. When chatting I already finished it, I was working on the post... but just managed to do the title. \o/

Never shut up! Express yourself! \o/

I really like those technical font thing, I think you did a great job to make them look like a space blueprint :D.

Thanks sketchbook scrawler! \o/

Very cool, I have no words, I like it so much. I just say bravo, wow, damn it. I would love to travel in this beautiful space ship!

Hey thanks. I'd love to travel in it too, perhaps while listening to one of your tracks. I listened to some of them on SC, I like the little stories in them. Cool.

Very creative and amazing artwork 😊 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks George! I followed you. You have amazing stuff going on there :)

Thank you very much:)

This post is sponsored and featured by @Appreciator in collaboration with @c-squared. Just keep up the good work.

Cool & thanks! Well appreciated Appreciator.

Hi @znkd
your work is beautiful! And I really like it when you show us all the steps that lead to the creation of the work. It's a bit like being in your head and seeing your eyes, because you have a special sensitivity. Your skills are really strong! Congratulations and Thanks for sharing with us!

Thanks. Your words are very kind and warm. I try to express the process the best I can. Hugs!

Wonderfully creative and very well presented! I love the colors you used. It gives it a blueprint feel for sure!

Thanks so much for the love!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77