Wendigod & the Hovering Cube - Commented ProcesssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art5 years ago

thumb.jpg

This one was a commission for a band called The Hovering Cube.

They asked for a wendigo(which is a sort of mythical creature/spirit characterized by being really skinny and having a head that resembles a skull of a cervid) in a lotus flower stance with an armor that had an aztec resemblance. (・・;)ゞ

I started with rough sketches.

c1.jpg

Sketched some of the armor.

c2.jpg

I liked this one:

c3.jpg

So I went and sculpt it.

c5.gif

I didn't sculpt the feet because my aim was not to show them. I'm a lazy one ( ̄ρ ̄)..zzZZnkd

I made a render of that sculpture and made a composition sketch to nail down what else I was going to add to the scene. Came up with this:

c6.jpg

In my head this monster was imprisoned and isolated in an ancient galactic confinement.

I sculpted and modeled some of those confinement structures.

c7.gif

I moved the camera looking for a few nice angles and rendered 3:

c8.jpg

c9.jpg

c10.jpg

I liked most the first and third... but client chose the second... meh ( ˘ ɜ˘) ♬♪♫ Painted on top and added textures:

c11.gif

Final:

c12.jpg
Full Res

Zoomz:

c13a.jpg

This wendigos thingies are known for being insatiable beings that are always hungry, no matter how much meat they've swallowed. I painted like lots of blood in its face and in the armor. It's body, in my head, was made of dense, dark, semi-coagulated blood. Also the armor in the torso depicts some kind of face that spills this stream of blood into its hands.

c14a.jpg

Body is always spilling blood. You can see part of the leg with all that melting blood. Then this little astronauts guys came to find, inadvertently, this monstrous entity which, if they're not careful, will trick'em into liberating it under false promises, so it can roam free again. They would be its first hunt in aeons.

Sort:  

Whooooaaaa! I really like this kind of scifi art, especially combined with your writings. An ever hungry always blood spilling monster that has been trapped for aeons, and then these explorers find it!!

If they're careful, maybe they can make use of its forever spilling blood for some commercial venture? Though the blood is probably cursed and if anyone drinks it, it might make them a wendigo kekeke. So exciting!

A great and enjoyable post :D.

Hahahah.

Though the blood is probably cursed and if anyone drinks it, it might make them a wendigo kekeke.

Yeah that sounds like fun!

but if you boil the blood down and mix it with mascapone cheese it makes a fabulous pasta sauce. And with the right bottle of wine you can stave of the curse until morning. Great artwork my friend!

in fact Ive just thought! My last blog post was a pretty terrible attempt to turn an oily chicken broth in to a new planet in outer space.....but I bet you could do it WAY BETTER! I would be most amused if you put my chicken soup planet in to the background of one of your images.....you knoooow you want to ;p

chicken soup planet

Hahaha that sounds like fun man, gotta check that post of yours... I'm intrigued now.

Hahahaha. Thanks friend! In Latin America there are a few dishes that employ pig's coagulated boiled blood.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Man! I've loved your art from the very first post, keep it up! :-)

Cg

O yeah I remember your comment in that post! And your avatar haha. Thanks for the love <3!

Hey @znkd
I just checked your wallet, and noticed you had 122SP of your own. You're doing good. :0)
I've removed my delegation - you should be able to get around with 122SP - so I can give it to other newcomers to help them out.
Keep up the good work!

Oh man many thanks! I really appreciate your help. May a lucky newcomer catch your keen eye. Hugs! ⊂(・ω・*⊂)

I'm glad to see you've done so well for yourself. Keep up the good work! :0)

There's people here that has helped me and supported me greatly. You for instance. Didn't expect that when I entered the blockchain. But nice surprise :D Thanks again and hugs again.
⊂(・ω・*⊂)
I once used to go to goa/psytrance parties, there was these acronym P.L.U.R. that was in every place and mouth. I suppose you know what it means... So P.L.U.R. to you mate <3

Hahaha, you know P.L.U.R.
Must have been a while back. It has literally been years since I heard it. :0)
I knew you were one of the 'good guys', lol.

Well,... P.L.U.R. right back at ya. :0)

I had the same experience you had: when I arrived here, I didn't have a clue what to expect, and then all of a sudden there were some people that started to support me. I didn't know why back then, but I'm grateful they did. The least I could do was pay their gesture forward. So I'm still trying to find the hidden gems in the neverending stream of newcomers and give them a chance to survive their first weeks/months here on SteemIt. Lots of them disappear again, so it makes me very happy to see some people push through and are up for the challenge to stick around. Thanks for that:0)

Btw, in case you're running into trouble again, please promise to let me know and I'll find a way to fix it. You've worked too hard to let that go to waste :0)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha yeah I was super youthful in those ages haha. If I had the troubles I'll let you know man. Surely. Hugs again friend (づ◡﹏◡)づ

Holaa @znkd, mucho gusto :D. Me encanta tu trabajo de verdad, tienes muchisisísimo talento; recién ayer te encontré por casualidad acá en Steemit y waaa estuve viendo todas tus creaciones, fue muy inspirador, amo tu trabajooo, voy a trabajar para llegar a ese nivel *- * -fangirleando-.

Y bueno, a parte de que tienes otro fan, vengo a decirte que vi este concurso de creaciones 3D y pensé inmediatamente en ti. No sé si estás interesado en éstas cosas, pero no perdía nada comentándote XD.
Te deseo lo mejor, veo que has tenido un buen comienzo, así que aporto mi granito de arena para que continúes así jajaja.
Cuídate mucho.

Aquí tienes este otro link por si quieres darle formatos a tus posts:
https://www.steem.center/index.php?title=Tips_for_formatting_your_post

PD: ¿Cuál programa usas para los diseños 3D? O:

¡Hola Mary! O María, o Marylucy jaja ¿qué prefieres? Muchas gracias por tus palabras de verdad me llenan de calidez.
(つω`。)
Voy a checar el concurso, pero la verdad es que no creo poder participar, ando súper atareado con trabajo, por eso no he podido postear cosas, quisiera hacer algo original y postearlo. Pero sólo he podido postear cosas viejas, aunque está bien re-visitar mis archivos y ver el desastre jaja. Y honestamente hay cosas viejas que me gustan mucho y quiero compartir y escribir acerca de ellas, estoy pensando en este blog en una especie de art journal quizás.
Tienes razón en lo de que he tenido buen comienzo, ha habido gente que me ha apoyado en grande desde el principio, la verdad no sabía que steemit pudiera llegar ser tan desalentador para un newbie. Pero la verdad yo no lo sentí así, hay gente muy bonita aquí, y realmente estoy agradecido con ell@s (っ˘▽˘)(˘▽˘)˘▽˘ς).
Las aplicaciones que uso para 3D son dos:

-3D-Coat para esculpir principalmente
-Blender para hacer los renders, modelar e iluminar.

Blender es una maravilla, es gratis, open-source y tienen una cantidad enorme de tutoriales y videos para aprender.

3D-Coat es súper flexible para esculpir porque es voxel-based. Y tiene unas herramientas súper útiles y fáciles de usar. Muy intuitivo. Pero cuesta, aunque no es muy caro la verdad. Y tienen un precio especial para amateurs. Más bara ;).

Te agradezco otra vez por el apoyo y calidez... Y nos estamos viendo por acá en la blockchain.

Abrazos ⊂(・ω・*⊂)

PD Ya te sigo ;)

Jajajaja, Mary preferiblemente. Gracias a ti por postear buen contenido y unirte a la comunidad, harás que mi feed luzca como mi inicio en Pinterest XD (Pinterest te bombardea con cosas geniales siguiendo tu patrón de búsquedas -divago- :VV).

El punto es que espero que pronto puedas subir contenido nuevo, si el viejo ya es genial, el nuevo debe ser ¡UFF!, jajajaja. Es una lástima que no puedas participar, el simple hecho de participar podría impulsarte un poco más, pero bueno, es entendible que estés ocupado U.U. Lo bueno es que ahora sabes que hay concursos que puedes buscar por la etiqueta cuando estés más libre C: .

Por cierto, es genial como comentas tus creaciones, es simple y fácil de leer. Y con esas caritas graciosas jajajaja -oie cy ( ͡ ͡° ͜ ʖ ͡ ͡°) - , me recuerda a cuando las escribía y buscaba por internet XDDD.

Has tenido un gran inicio porque hiciste varias cosas correctamente, pero sobretodo por el talento. Hay quienes no llegan a esa ecuación -comoyocofcof- jajajaja y nuestro "debut" llega un tiempo después luego de ensayos y errores, pero la cuestión está en seguir trabajando en ello y no renunciar como a muchos les sucede, sin embargo Steemit tiene una buena comunidad que ayuda muchísimo (sólo debes buscarla si ella no llega a ti).

¡Gracias por darme esos datos de las aplicaciones! Ahorita ando ocupada pero me pondré a investigar pronto C: . No creo que pueda costearme el pago -jajaja infinito-, pero weno, puedo trabajar en ello.

Y waa qué genial que me sigas, qué beio y amable (aunque lo vi primero de Ginabot, así que arruinó la sorpresa jajajajaja) ¡Nos vemos! Mucho éxito.

PD: siento que podría seguir haciéndote mil preguntas más que me dan curiosidad y comentándote cosas pero esto ya se volvería como un post de cómo bombardear a alguien a preguntas XDD. Chau. Ya te sigo.

De las caras de hecho sí tengo un bookmark de una página de donde las copio muahaha. Me da gusto que disfrutes los posts :D Y pues puedes preguntarme lo que quieras, de verdad, con confianza. Casi siempre entro a steemit un rato en la mañana y otro rato en la noche.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95