Fishbowl conspiracy: My entry for ART EXPLOSION WEEK 23

in #artexplosion6 years ago

This is my entry for week 23 of ART EXPLOSION.
The theme was "Conspiracy" and I tried to interpret it in my own style
and add a strong narrative element to the image.
Below you will see some of my initial sketches and the final painting process.
179_conspiracy_final-_web.jpg


These are some of the very rough initial sketches
I did to figure out the idea and the composition.
I particularly like the fishbowl with the single cat on the left side,
but I didn't think it reflected the theme adequately.
I like it a lot though so I might make it as another illustration.
179_conspiracy_sketches_1.jpg

It was very important to me that the fishbowl was a nice bright place
where the fish can live happily in their own ignorance, so I decided to do some
fish sketches to get their expressions right.
To be honest I got a bit carried away and enjoyed making the fishes so much
that I have decided to make more illustrations of happy fishbowls and fish patterns.
I love it when quick sketches like these give you ideas for next projects.
179_conspiracy_sketches_2.jpg


This the final painting process.
I started with the fishbowl first as it is an important element and the lighting
around it would determine the rest of the image.
179_process.gif

Thanks for taking a look!

Sort:  

I love the fish designs and how there is one fish going "hey guys, I think something is wrong" while the others are blissful.

so glad to meet another artist,
and thank you for upvoting my post :) . it means the world to me.

Thank you too, it's nice meeting other artists and people who appreciate creativity.

:] I think Steemit will allow a rebirth of the creative practice in people's lives and it's one for the history books. I am just grateful to be a live to witness this moment.

anyway, not to get too deep but it's nice seeing you too. keep drawing :]

nice concept!!..really enjoy to watch your art design..delicious!!

Interesting interpretation of the theme.. Thank you for participating!

Awesome Piece @azbeen! I dig the distorted proportions of your line work, makes for a really zany kinda style!

I also noticed you only used 4 tags? Be sure to use #sketchandscribble as one of your tags in your posts and I will personally come comment and drop some love on your sketches/scribbles/paintings, beautiful complete piece!

How long did it take you to finish?

Thanks for the tip mate! I'll be sure to include the tag next time. I'm still figuring out the whole tag thing yet!
I can't say for sure how long this took as I was working on and off for a few days on my free time - but once I had the line work done, adding the colors took me about an hour.

Wow @azbeen, that is pretty damn quick I must say, you seem like you are making every efficient use for those valuable spare seconds in that elusive free-time that you speak of :)

I try too but it's tough... I'm a planning guy so most of my time goes into planning the image and the final step of making it is easy..I'll post more of my process as I go along so you'll understand how plan stuff out soon!

Super-Keen! I seriously dig the gif at the end! The more snap shots the better :)

Congratulations. This post is featured in today's Muxxybot Curation Post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-curation-51

This is amazing! The lighting and colors are combined so perfectly.
Thank you for sharing the process, your art style is so unique, it's really cool to see all of your steps. Resteemed so that I can find it tomorrow for a closer look on pc :D

Awesome work, as usual! I love the look on the little purple fish’s face, so worried!

Poor fish! They don't know what's gonna happen :O
I love your style and the planning you did! looking forward to your illustration from the idea you got here :)

Really cool, style, and wow for the amount of planning sketches haha :)

Thanks! I like showing the planning sketches as most people don't realize how much work is involved in the final piece.This is also why I mostly don't manage to post every day. Some sketches don't work out imediately and I just have to give it more time.

Well I'd say even the "rough" ones look pretty good dude haha, quality and quantity you got going on here :)

Very fun! The fish definitely have that look of "blissful ignorance"... and the cats look so menacing. Great conspiracy! 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69715.93
ETH 3772.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77