"In Bloom" (An Artwork Inspired by Edith Hamilton's Greek Mythology)

in #artexplosion6 years ago (edited)

I recently just joined @juliakponsford's Art Explosion Contest. The challenge is to create any type of artwork (of your own liking) which is inspired by a book. Art and Literature are two of my great loves, hence, having read the mechanics, I was instantly sold by this art prompt. Of all my well-loved classic novels, I chose Edith Hamilton's Greek Mythology. This artwork was generated with the use of digital collage.

Here is my entry (and the story behind it):

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

My favorite stories in mythology revolve around births and rebirths. I love the story about the Creation, where at the Greek standpoint--from darkness and from death, Love was born, and with its birth, Order and Beauty began to banish blind confusion. Thusly, Love created Light, and with its companion is, what we know now as radiant Day.

The story of Prometheus comes a close second-- known as the benefactor of mankind, Prometheus stole fire from the Olympus to benefit humanity, which eventually gave birth to man's eternal curiosity and longing for intellect.

Another one which continues to be a favorite, is the story of the birth of Aphrodite (or Venus in Ancient Roman literature). For with it followed the story of how love, desire, beauty, and abundance became palpable and attainable to human hands.

Among many other ancient tales, these are vestiges to the story of Beginnings. May these be constant reminders that our birth into this world is a gift gradually unfolding right before our eyes-- always blooming in light, wisdom, beauty, and love.

Sort:  

Congratulations for winning the contest! It is well deserved and now i have found a new and fellow artist to follow on Steem! And I am glad to meet you. :)

Thank you so much! Had it not been for this comment, I would have zero idea I won the contest. Haha. Anyway. Congratulations also! I adore your illustration. Hope to see more in my feed. :) Keep it up! :)

How funny, yeah sometimes you just have to follow up as Steemit doesn't seem to really have a sort of notification option, which is both good and bad.

You too, looking forward to seeing more. And it is so amazing you are a doctor. I actually started uni as pre-med but eventually (after two years) changed to Art History. It is true healing and artistry do and should go hand in hand. :)

I have to apologize, it takes eons for me to reply. Been living outside the worldwide web recently (which is also kind of good and toxic, haha).

Anyway, I find it amazing that you pursued your heart's desire to take Art History. It really suits you. I hope that this platform will hone your talent more. Keep it up 😊

Stunning piece. The depth and mythology behind it is so inspiring. I didn't know that much about Prometheus, which was a nice surprise.

You've been resteemed + followed as part of the #LadiesofSteemit initiative. Looking forward to keeping up with your posts!

It's an honor to be followed by one of the blogs I look up to. Thank you so much, @ladiesofsteemit! :) May we always stay inspired.

Monica, this is a beautiful composition! I love your theme and your inspiration for creating. I recognize your source for Venus, but who painted Prometheus? Killer!

I just changed the Prometheus image to add more dimension to the artwork :) The previous one was from Jan Cossier!

Thanks so much! :)

This is a beautiful mix of modern and old, thank you for participating!

Thank you, I enjoyed participating in your art challenge 😊

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thank you so much for the opportunity 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61769.55
ETH 2910.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64