YOU GOTTA SEE THIS

in #article6 years ago

YOU GOTTA SEE THIS

I hope they don't see this, I really do. But if you're seeing it already, I want you to know that on behalf of everyone, I am very sorry, you were just a victim of circumstances.

*Tear drops

It was raining; like seriously raining, my friend who was sitting beside me was already soaked, and we were not even in the rain.
We were in a bus travelling to Lagos.

The roof of the bus was as weak as a 106 years old house, bandaged up and down, and leaking all over. The water dripping from the roof was enough to make a mighty ocean, and it did, at the back of my friend's shirt.

He didn't seem bothered about it, as he was engrossed in his game, trying to shake off the travel fever. I pitied him, but he just kept playing with his phone.

We had seen the signal that this was going to be one hell of a dripping and cold journey, when we first entered the bus and saw the backseat, which we were about to take, soaked wet. That was the residue of the rain from Ilorin, what we didn't know was that ours wasn't too far ahead.

The rain started not too long after our journey started, and here we are now, so close to our destination, and the rain was so heavy, it pounded the roof like a club.

The driver seemed to not notice the rain, as he just kept speeding, unaware of the loss of friction between the tyre and the ground. He didn't care about any other physics than the one that makes the car go fast.

I was oblivious to his speed too as he was to the rain, as I was engrossed in a convo with my friend about whatever, when it happened.

Gbam!

That was what we heard

It was louder than that though

and like a man going into the spirit (that was how my friend described it), the white creature flew from the middle of the road to the side of the road within split seconds, his weight smashing the windscreen of the car sending us all into a state of shock and shouts

What just happened? I asked myself

Did we just hit something?

Or someone?
...

THE REST OF THE STORY
please read

It took a while before we finally got a hold of ourselves, shouts of Jesus! Jeeessuuu! Ori Iya Mi o (okay, there was no ori Iya mi o), but truth is someone must have shouted that, even if it wasn't loud.

The impact of the collision was so great, it knocked me forward, and I hit my knees on the base of the seat in front of me.

There was commotion in the bus, as it was in the middle of the road, and there were trailers coming right behind us, with little visibility owing to the rain. It was a recipe for disaster.

A woman quickly came down from the bus. The driver had opened the door of the bus when he came down to check for the level of damages on the victim and on the car.

People shouted to him to leave the victim alone, as it could land him in trouble if he was found with the victim.

It was a sad scene for me, and very very scary. I had never been in this kind of situation before, I was a first timer.

People started dropping from the bus, not minding the rain.

Some insulted the driver for being so careless and landing them in trouble.

Some ran away from the bus to get another bus so they could escape the consequences they knew were looming.

But me and my friends, we just sat there, calm and totally composed in spite of the hullabaloo around us.

One by one the passengers started getting into buses going to Ibadan. They fled the scene of crime to escape. Silly people.

It was while this was going on that I saw him, I mean really saw him, and I felt so sorry for him. The loss of a life was a really big thing for anyone. I really pitied him at that moment.

From the way he was dressed, I guessed he was a Fulani man, which got me scared, because I know Fulanis take their cows very seriously, killing one brought you up on their list.

But there was nothing we could do about it, the calf was dead as a dog. He must have been trying to cross the road, and our driver couldn't see him due to the rain, and so did the collision take place, sending the cow right into the pot of soup.

Seeing the Fulani boy who was in charge of the cow, I quickly got out of the bus, along with my friend, and followed the driver to a new bus, I kept looking back to see whether the boy was going to fight. I was already picturing a bloody scenario in my head.

But all my worries were put away as he went the other way, driving the remaining cows with him, and so did I enter a new bus with my friend, and was faced with a new problem...rain was still falling... water was still dripping... this is going to be another interesting journey.

I will tell you about the rest of the journey someday.

For now, let's just sleep. The shock is still heavy on me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62780.02
ETH 2945.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62