Champurrado bebesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #article6 years ago

Every year around this time, we are reminded everywhere we step of holiday related things to purchase and consume. Most basic b*tches are allured by pumpkin spice or the usual holiday drinks you see plastered all over the place by starbucks and such, and some people just like a classic cup of hot cocoa. But this special snowflake here begs to differ.

Ever since becoming sentient (at age 5 or so I presume) I am always consumed with nostalgia brought on by anything cinnamon related such as the scented pine cones they keep at the front of grocery stores in winter time.It always makes me crave a drink that for the longest time I wasn't able to remember.

I'm not quite sure who introduced me to it, and I assume my first experience with it must have happened at a very young age for that reason so it very well might have been my biological mother’s mother, (my grandmother who I don't really know all that well and haven't seen since I was very young as a result of not knowing that entire side of my family due to growing up with my fathers grandmother who raised me for reasons not necessary to get into at this exact moment.)

So I have no choice but to assume it was my mother’s mother, mostly because she is Hispanic, and also because I knew her around the time of having this drink and also because my fathers mother who basically raised me, had me drinking and eating mostly traditional American and German holiday dishes and drinks.

Cider being one of the main drinks during this time of year and pastries and cookies mostly consisting of butter being the dishes I've consumed. The drink I was speaking of earlier is what I now know of as Champurrado. Its an absolutely delicious, rustic, earthy, hot beverage often compiled of cinnamon, cocoa, anise, masa harina, piloncillo, and of course some more simple inredients like milk etc.

I was very fortunate to finally stumble upon this drink after years of wondering what it was that one December as a child that now whenever I smell cinnamon causes me to crave something I couldn't even remember the name of for so long. It happened while I was living on my own with a friend in a neighborhood that was predominantly Mexican, and that many of the locals considered and would call little Mexico.

It was surrounded by Carnicerias and traditional Mexican food restaurants, and was probably one of my favorite places to be when stoned and hungry. One day, my roomate at that time came home after work with two styrofoam cups with lids on them filling the tiny room we were renting out with that sweet smell of cinnamon and I was immediately interested in what he had brought us.

When I asked him what it was he didn't answer me and just handed me the drink, but that didn't phase me. I opened it to take a look and at first thought I was looking at some sort of oatmeal, not minding I took a sip and was flooded with nostalgia.

I had experienced this drink before, and it was pure bliss enjoying it once again for the first time in years. My roommate being able to confirm my positive reaction finally answered me the second time asking what it was because I was demanding to know at this point and he replied telling me it was "Champurrado".

I was so ecstatic to finally find my favorite comfort drink from my childhood after all this time. Now I knew I would never forget its name again. It's been two years since that wonderful experience and I've made it myself both years. If anyone is interested in this orgasmic holiday drink I've listed a recipe for it here.

It takes 20 minutes to make and serves 8 people,

6 cups milk (whole is preferred for best flavor)
1 cup masa harina (corn flour) (you can get anywhere but I usually get it at local mexican markets)
2 cups water
1 cup brown sugar
3 ounces unsweetened chocolate (grated) (you can use regular or you can use Abuelitas brand mexican hot chocolate tablets)
1 cinnamon stick (or more if you like it extra cinnamony like me )
Aaaand-
A pinch of anise for taste if desired

Directions:

-Heat the milk and chocolate in a saucepan, stirring to dissolve the chocolate.
-Once chocolate is completely dissolved, remove it from the heat but keep it warm.
-Mix masa harina and the water in another saucepan and place over low heat, add your cinnamon stick, and anise and cook until the mixture has thickened and the masa becomes translucent.
-Add the chocolate milk and brown sugar. Stir to dissolve the sugar and let simmer for a few minutes.
-Remove the cinnamon stick or sticks and now it’s ready to be served in mugs of choice!

20171212_180633.png

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem ! It's fun ! read the rules, they are a lot, and they change... @jerrybanfield has a lot of very informative post for a beginner ! https://steemit.com/@jerrybanfield
enjoy a censorship free and monetized platform !

Welcome to Steem ! It's fun ! read the rules, they are a lot, and they change... @jerrybanfield has a lot of very informative post for a beginner

Congratulations @saprophagous! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @saprophagous! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60859.14
ETH 2917.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61