Matthew Shepard's ashes will be interred at Washington National Cathedral

in #article6 years ago

Matthew Shepard Laid to Rest at National Cathedral Decades After His Murder.
This made me wonder how many people have ever heard the powerful song about this tragedy that Melissa Etheridge used her talented voice and songwriting skills to shine light and educate people.
The first time I met Melissa, I thanked her for writing this song. She said, "I wish I didn't have to".

I wept 20 years ago when I first learned about Matthew Shepard - both for the horror that this young man and his family went through, and from the fear for our own son, who had just recently come out to us.

I wept again just now as i watched the ceremony at the National Cathedral - with sadness for that family's anguish, and with anger and disillusionment that it isn't really much better, 20 years later. When?'

Sort:  

This user is on the @buildawhale blacklist for one or more of the following reasons:

  • Spam
  • Plagiarism
  • Scam or Fraud

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.54
ETH 3092.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87