Restart of a Long-lost Passion

in #artist7 years ago (edited)

I have always loved creating.

One of my earliest memories is of my Gran teaching me how to draw. She also taught me how to draw a bee. I was fascinated. In my early school career, I would sit and draw the profiles of my school mates. I would practice the techniques I learned from my mom's anatomy drawing book. I loved it!

Over the years, I tried to keep on drawing and it continued through high school. Art class was my favourite subject at school and I had dreams of one day becoming an artist.

I spent most of my gap year after high school, drawing, painting and making wire sculptures. I felt free to express myself through my art.

After a 2-year volunteer experience, where I did not draw all that much, I was encouraged by my dad to study IT (information technology) as that was sure to get me a "good job". I was getting older and had surrendered to the notion that artists don't really make that much money in order to survive. So began my career in tech.

My dreams of creating art for a living were lost. I became lost. I barely picked up a pencil for almost 12 years.
Then, for my birthday, my brother-in-law, bought me a small, bound sketch book with a challenge to draw something every day. So for a while, I took up the challenge.

My passion for creating art was reignited! I started drawing again.

Here are a few of my drawings from my new adventure.

Astronaut.jpg

The astronaut was my second drawing of the year, the first one was weird and out of my head. I used Instagram to find images that inspired me and then draw them. Each drawing took, on average, about an hour to draw.






I would love to make art full-time, but I am still trying to figure out how I would a living from that (any ideas?).

For 14 years, I have also been saying I will begin my Visual Arts degree... and I did! It's been rough, but I started.

If you think this kind of content is worthwhile on Steemit... please upvote and I'll post some more.
Heck, I'll post more tomorrow anyway 😁

Sort:  

Keep doing it man! You are so talented! Upvoted!

Thanks! I guess the best way to commit to something is to go public. I'll be sharing more soon.

These are beautiful! Keep up the good work. Some job ideas..
-sell your work on etsy
-website design
-art restoration
-museum curator
-run a gallery or manage a gallery

You are very kind. Interesting suggestions, never heard of a museum curator before, I'll go research that one. 😊

I wish I had a talent like that:)! Great job!

@czechglobalhosts I was just thinking, I need to write an article on how anyone can learn to draw and that it has nothing to do with "talent"...even yourself.
Thanks for the idea...😉👍🏻

I like these. Keep 'em coming!

Thanks Junior! I'm working on it :)

Do an art challenge ;) I did Inktober last year, it's nice to have a commitment.

Cool! I'll look into that. Thanks.

Very good my friend! Keep doing it! And steem on!

Ah sorry for the late reply... but thanks!

Don't sorry man! It's Ok! you are a great talent man. Keep doing it! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62