Last Week Poetry, This Week Art

in #artist5 years ago

pencil-1486278_1280.jpg
image source

page-break.png

Having a go at drawing

So let me start by telling you that I am in no way an artist, nor have I ever inspired to be one. In fact whilst I was at school, I was banned out of the art department altogether for messing around during class all because I wanted to draw on someone's face.

When I was a child I did have a little go at trying to draw a picture( call it to much blue peter) but I soon got bored and found that pencils were more entertaining if I stuck them up my nose. But since then the closest I've come to drawing really is a stick man.

F2B-page-break.png

So Why Did I Get The Urge?

Well! after seeing the Tsunami of talented artists on the platform and how wonderful their art pieces are, I started to wish that all those years ago I had the mentality to know that it was more beneficial to put pencil to paper than pastel to face.
So after raiding more daughters art supplies( which came with much protest) and finding a stray piece of card, I whipped out the pencil sharpener like I was sharping a sword ready for battle and to my surprise, the led graphite was moving on the paper.

page-break.png


image source
F2B-page-break.png
Being Valentine's day this week and taking some external inspiration I decided to go with the theme of love. I still did not know how to express that in a drawing but when I think of love, I think of hearts.
That was my starting point after that the thoughts just flooded in.

I hated making mistakes but quickly learned that mistakes are supposed to happen and it is not entirely a bad thing.
Although when it came to adding color, That theory goes right out of the window.

Move over Van Gogh! Artist2b has entered the building

52313819_535008006992666_5511250670713307136_n.jpg

The image is of two people sharing a moment of intense attraction set in a heart shape that reflects their bubble of love.
The roses (well apart from thinking they are easy to draw) symbolize the growth and beauty that blossoms from relationships.

Whilst the background is an attempt at sunset you will of noticed (or maybe not) the night sky in the Heart. This is a representation of time which in my eyes can be love's best friend or worst enemy.

So now I have stopped trying to be an art critique
I'm going to finish with this...

What I have learned about this experience is that I should not dismiss nor think I'm not good enough to give a challenge a try as not only could you surprise yourself but you could create a masterpiece for everyone else too...

animated-banner.gif

this post has been crossed posted to my whaleshares account

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by father2b from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @father2b! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 11000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97