A Poem for the Steemit Community!

in #artist6 years ago

Finding my way in this sea of steemit
Believing it gives what I need if I dream it

As I go searching the things that I find
Are unique and authentic, one of a kind.

But honest to you, deterred I have been
I’ve stopped my own search for those of my kin

“How do some make so much money?” I asked
I needed this mystery to be unmasked

So searching I went for answers and found
That others have already walked the same ground

Minnows are getting advice from the whales
To draw them into their page
But what do we do when your advice fails?
How can I increase my wage?

Others pretend that they know about crypto
Sharing all that they can.
They post every minute on all that is hip, though
Never do they share with you their own plan

Some spend their time fighting these siphons
Angry that they take from the rest
But still for these posts the attention is heightened
Leaving them be may be best

After I searched with money in mind,
I realize that there’s nothing to find.

A daily task just to try and build wealth?
Saying hi to all in #introduceyourself

I’d rather share what I know I can do
And hopefully that will be good for you

I’ll follow the folks who I like and admire
Like @steemartists and @tarazkp who inspire

And as for what I can do you may ask?
Write poetry here on the spot is my task

No, I can’t rap, my mind isn’t fast,
But words that fit well I will catch if I cast.

I hope you all like what I’ve written today
I’ll have more for you as I pave my way
Here on steemit

mqberry
Steem On!

Sort:  

You summed up the experience of getting started here on Steem quite nicely. I can relate to much of what you've said about the struggle to get paid here while remaining true to one's self. Keep it up!

Thank you Scott. I appreciate your comment. I was obsessed for a minute trying to figure out how to leverage what Steemit offers financially. I've decided to shift my focus to leveraging what I have to offer instead of focusing on these other opportunities presenting themselves in the advancing technology revolution.

I just posted my first day of not smoking cigarettes, day 0. Hah! Had my last cigarette just now. I can't imagine it will be a lofty goal since I've "quit" before and I only smoke one every day or so, but maybe others need someone to follow; someone in the same shoes.

Day one starts tomorrow and I'll post again.

Maybe people will follow. Maybe not. Either way, I'm doing this for me and my family.

Steem On Scott!

Absolutely. The way I see it, it's all about finding the intersection between what you know and what others find relevant. Any way you slice it, we're still taking part in a very cool and unprecedented development here.

Congrats on your effort to quit smoking. I understand the struggle, cause I'm going through it myself. Last week, I got sick, and it was almost like my body was telling me that I had to stop. Though I tried, I couldn't even take a puff without coughing like crazy, so I decided I was at least taking a break.

After spending a lot of time in bed, I got over the worst of my illness. Getting better, I felt like a totally new person—more alert, clearer thinking, and just generally feeling good. While I'm sure that part of what I'm feeling is just in contrast to the sickness, I know that I'm also feeling the absence of smoking tobacco.

That said, I haven't quit completely. I still mix tobacco with my cannabis, but it's much much less than before and I've stopped smoking tobacco by itself. Most importantly, I feel like I have control again, like I can choose not to smoke. And that is awesome.

It took me a while to warm up to the idea, but using a nicotine vaporizer has been an undeniable aide in this process. The experience closely resembles hookah, which I'm also fond of, and gives much of the satisfaction both of playing with smoke and consuming nicotine. Devices have dropped in price to the point where you can try one out for the cost of a few packs of cigarettes, and I'd highly recommend doing so to anyone who wants to smoke less.

A lot of people have recommended the vaporizer for that reason. All of the bellman at my work smoke vaporizers. It't the "new thing" it seems.

I'm glad you're feeling better! It is so ironic how being sick helps in quitting addictions. Just like you said, maybe it IS your body telling you to stop.

I'm about two weeks in now to no smoking so I feel pretty good about that. Still enjoy my beer and wine at night but I think I'll be taking a break from that soon. Maybe after I hit my 100 day no smoking goal I'll add in a 100 day alcohol break.

Health man, who would have thought it would have been so challenging to keep up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.50
ETH 2910.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59