[CO] OC Phery Mallory

in #artisteem6 years ago (edited)

[CO] OC Phery Mallory

Artist Name: Petya Boneva
Source: https://steemit.com/@katalinaooma
Curator’s Critique:

It was an honor for me to meet her when I was starting out in the platform. And I’m even more honored after she allowed me to share her works and indulge in a small informal interview. @katalinaooma is a down to earth digital illustrator that is a perfect model on how artists on the blockchain could be. She has consistently been sharing her original works since the start of her career on the platform.

I picked the OC Phery Mallory for the personal backstory it has on her passion for illustrating. She has been working on this project for years and you can see stunning progression in technique as she goes.

What I like about her OC creation is the level of technique and effort she invested each step of the process. From sketch to a digital finish, you can tell that that each proportion, anatomy, and values are carefully planned as she renders the image straight from her expansive imagination. The balance of color choice from beginning to end. It was easy to keep up in thought but actually repeating the process would require years of mastery.

I was lucky to have her share a quick background about her as an artist.

How can using the Steem Blockchain be of help to other artists?

Many artists (myself included) come from a small town in even smaller country. And the most efficient way of gaining recognition, being seen and appreciated is through the Blockchain. It can also help many talented artists to earn from their creativity and artworks by retaining their authorship.

What motivates you to share your works in the platform?

One of the reasons was inevitably related to the new way of income (laughs). But I still remember the first day on the platform (it was 10 months ago) when everybody who saw my crappy sketch welcomed me with such warmth and joy… left me breathless and stunned! It wasn’t about the money anymore, it was about the people, the longing for friendship and support by art souls just like me. Distance or origin no longer matters, because the love for art is what unites us. ^.^

Where do you get your inspirations to create art?

From books, movies, artworks by favorite artists, and especially music. Music puts me to an incredible state of the mind when I can visualize my stories. This mostly happens late at night. Just before going to sleep, I imagine what the world would look like. What my world would be if I was the creator. I was very introverted as a child and didn’t have many friends so this was probably an escape route for me – I created as many imaginary friends as I wanted (sounds silly, I know). But later this habit of mine helped me imagine my characters and stories for the Inexplicit project.

What is the hardest thing about pursuing this career?

Probably the thought that you have to complete somebody’s idea before finishing your own. I always come up with inspiration for my characters and stories when the deadline for a commission is coming closer and closer. XD

The next hardest thing is overcoming your fears: fear of failing the project, fear of disappointing your client, fear of not having enough projects for the month. There’s basically fear for everything. XD

But as long as you prepare your mind and just do the work, everything comes into place.
So maybe this should put in first place, but the hardest thing in this career (and every other maybe) is YOU. At the same time YOU are the best thing in your career. You have incredible talent, skills, you can do whatever you put your mind into.

Who are the other artists in the platform you think deserves promotion?

Oh, that will probably be the longest answer of all. ^.^
There are so many talented artists on the platform. I’ll try to share their names, but will have to apologize if miss some.

@veryspider and @scrawly are two wonderful ladies who supported me from the very beginning.
@svdsdragunov is the friend and colleague who told me about the platform. He has really incredible stuff.
@midlet is another friend I met here – a truly “Computer Magic” man. ^.^
@adelair is incredible environmental and character design artist.
@itsdatneighbour is also an amazing artist and neighbor.
@gric is one of my all-time favorite artists.
@kothy is such a cute and talented young girl. ^.^
Can’t miss @dunsky – another incredibly talented artist I met on the platform.
And a special attention to @ryivhnn, an amazing multi-colored guy. ^.^
All eyes on @tcpolymath – a great guy who support artists with his own money.
Also @vermillionfox, @melooo182, @thilah, @corpsvalues, @haedre, @trinumedia, @kytcordell, @ivan-g, @shinyforest, @lifesacircus, @maya525, @choogirl and many others I’m following until this day.

Comments may not be my strong side, but will support them in any way possible.
And last, but not least – big hug to @Adamada for giving me these incredible questions. I now know more about myself than ever before. ^.^


Sort:  

Thanks @katalinaooma , it's an honor to be part of the list, wow i'm so touched. T_T

You're very welcome, @adelair!
I honestly believe that you deserve more attention here. <3

Thank you so much, @adamada! <3 <3 <3
OMG, I didn't expect that amazing introduction! It's so AWESOME I can't even believe it's about myself. blush

Thank you as well for indulging and you deserve the highlight. A lot more steemartists deserves to be mentioned and saved me a lot of copy coming up the list :D

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Hi, @adamada!

You just got a 1.16% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @adamada! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 800 replies. Your next target is to reach 900 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @adamada! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1000 replies. Your next target is to reach 1250 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Ahhhh @katalinaooma thank you so much for including me in your list!!! hugs Great questions and answers in this post too~!!!

So you wanted a !rabbit ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56