[CR] The Station

in #artisteem5 years ago

Artwork ImageI've decided to start doing daily art fundamentals practices and studies for now as I have a lot left to improve. I'll continue drawing dragons once my ink pens that I ordered arrive. :) Initially I was looking for some gem references, but I accidentally came across the station photo on Pixabay and it blew me away so I decided to paint it instead.

This study took me around 1h to do.You can check out my reference at the end of the post.

The process:

A.jpg

I started with a perspective grid that I made long ago. I've seen other artists use this method and it's great. You can download my perspective grid here: https://sta.sh/0qu924ntu41 You can transform the grid freely. If you do 2 point perspective, make sure to align the horizon line.

B.jpg

This was a quick study so I didn't use any perspective tools and methods here as this was more of a warmup. By methods for example, I mean making sure that the pillars are evenly aligned in perspective. I have to revisit Scott Robertson's perspective tutorials, as I forgot most methods :)

C.jpg

Reference: https://pixabay.com/en/station-tracks-train-station-rail-839208/

I'm using pixabay for reference as the images are CC0 :)

Sugestions for interesting, unique themes are welcome! Or you may share an image you'd like me to paint (it has to be CC0). If I pick your theme to draw, you win 0.1SBD ^^

Thank you for checking out! <3

Sort:  

Howdy from Texas kristyglas! This amazes me! lol. It looks so much like the original photo that it appears more like a duplicate than one created by you. I have no idea how you did it so precisely but it's incredible. And you usually draw by hand with pencils?

Thank you :D Actually I do digital art full time. However, drawing by hand helps me improve and it's fun ^^

oh I get it kristyglas.. yes and you are very very good at it too! lol.

Awesome work, @kristyglas! Beautiful rendering! :-)

Thank you! ^^

Hi kristyglas,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you very much!! :D

Amazing, it's a good break from your usual dragon concepts and other fantasy works. You're hitting the right values and colors :D

Thank you :D Yeah I agree, switching things up is great ^^

When you look at your first photo quickly you think it's a photograph. I had to scroll down and up again 2 to be sure if it's your study. It's really great! The colors are matching your reference image almost perfectly (yours are better though :))

If you would have invested more time into this study what would you change? I'm asking as I can imagine that you would maybe work a bit on the background? I'm not giving you a critique point just being curious as you didn't give the background too much detail. Which I understand as you only spent one hour on the whole image.

If you can do such things in one hour I wonder what you can do in a day ;)

Thank you for sharing! Have a great weekend!

Thank you :D Yeah I was definitely considering spending more time on it, but I have a new reference waiting for me :D

The way I normally add extra sharp details is to blur the image just a bit at around this stage and then take a sharp 100ish% brush and go from one corner of the image to other adding crisp details. This part of rendering actually can take 5-10 times more time than setting up the scene ^^
Here is one of my old posts with more details:
https://steemit.com/artexplosion/@kristyglas/the-blue-aquatic-dragon-dromarine-full-art-process

WOW! I would like you to see my face when I saw that older post of yours!! That is amazing! I'm going to go through it and see how much time you spent on that one just to compare :)

Aww thank you haha xD Yeah sadly don't have as much free time right now, it would take me a couple of weeks now at least, for that much details :D

Wooow 💙_💙
This is amazing @kristyglas!!!
Great perspective and the colours are soo good, the photographer of the refrence pic did an excellent job too!

Thank you <3 Yeaah the photograph blew me away :O I was so surprised to find it on pixabay. This is such a perfect setting for a story or a movie :D

🎉 Congratulations @kristyglas! 👏, your amazing Artwork has been selected to be featured in my curation post.
image

Thank you very much! :D

Woah this is amazing Kristy! Your perspective is on point!

Thank you!! :D

You know you did a good job when someone like me rocks in mistaking the drawing for the photo 😆 (I had to look closely 😆)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Aww thank you haha xD <3
I wish my photos were this good ;)

Oh man! I thought it was photography for sure - you should write on title that it is painting! That makes it way more interesting 😍 And it will be interesting if you can refer one of my photography works to paint, please take a look on my blog- if you like!

Thank you! ^^ I can't because of the rules of artisteem where I posted from :)

I don't know what's interesting to you but for me everything related to outer space is. I found this image. I hope it works for your project ...

https://pixabay.com/en/astronaut-spacewalk-iss-tools-suit-877306/

What you did with the station was great.

Thank you, I love the theme :D Will try it tomorrow or day after.
I might find a different photo as this is very complex ^^
!tip

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00