[CR] Cabalen Christmas Countdown 26: Bola

in #artisteem5 years ago

Hello Steemians and Cabalens,

Time for another countdown drawing activity as we get near the season of joy and sharing. For today the prompt that we are to depict on our drawing would be Christmas balls. We do not have a formal name for it but we can call it bola which is a loose term to mean ball.
image
My drawing is inspired by the school project I did back in 5th grade. I used a big styrofoam ball to form the base of my Christmas ball. Then using a lot of metal pins I pinned colorful sequence on it. I inserted glass rod beads first on the pin to give its body some form and color. The posterior end of each pin I put small beads as the final touch. Tedious to create but beautiful when finished.

Here is a process drawing:
image
I started with a base color of pink which I intentionally made darker so that when I put more details on top of it I can somehow see where the shadow could be later on.
image
This phase I put the sequence and beaded pins. I tried different colors that I like. It doesn't have to be strict you can use any color just have fun. Like me this is my first time to draw this and I had fun. The result looks perfect just like how my project in 5th grade is. The background helps a lot. If you noticed I changed the value several times and settled with the one that has a gradient effect. A flat dark background didn't work for me.

Hope you like it and thanks for your time
@quatro

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60853.02
ETH 2904.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62