[CR] Painting my very first sculpture!

in #artisteem5 years ago (edited)

Artwork Image

It took me a year but I finally painted my very first sculpture!

I made this creepy demonic thing over a year ago. It was my first time working with clay and I had no idea what I was doing but I had a vision that needed to be brought to life!

Anyone remember that gross looking monster with the eyes from the movie Big Trouble in Little China? If not then you may have to look it up. I was a huge fan of the film as a kid, it was scary but I still found it cool. That kind of explains why I enjoy scary things now as an adult. Any who, my little creepy ball of fleshy goodness was inspired by that monster.

The concept art for this sculpture

My sculpture turned out a little different from my original sketch because I was working on a smaller surface. If I had made the sphere larger then I probably would’ve incorporated the second tongue. I chose to stick with red for the skin but instead of blue eyes I shifted that over to the tongue. It’s funny, while I was painting this @guthrie was telling me that it looked delicious! He said that they eyes looked like skittles and the tongue looked like taffy.

I did take progress shots while painting this at @caffetto with @jthiessen but the lighting wasn’t too great. I also felt like the pictures didn’t do this sculpture justice so I decided to take pretty photos with my good camera at home.


Let’s take a moment to admire this beauty...




What do you think? Does this creature remind you of candy or is it as gross?

Also, I ended up using acrylic paints for this but I’m noticing that it has a sticky texture. Is there a certain finishing spray, like a top coat that you’d recommend? I’d love to keep it glossy looking.

Thanks for stopping by to view my work!🦊

Sort:  

aw wow! that is creepy AF! but it looks so cool and well made!
nice one!!! <3

Yess! Creepy is what I aim for! Thanks! ^^

hahaha can't argue with that :D
obviously you are!!!! LOLLLL

The Artisteem Curation Team recognizes your work as being of outstanding quality and an enrichment to our community. We encourage you to use Artisteem again for your artistic creations, and are looking forward to your future posts.

ARTISTEEM Curator.png

You’re a curator for Artisteem @yanes94? That’s great! :)

That's right, I have around a week. ;)

Your sticking tongue sculpture is so adorable :D. I like how blue and big the tongue is, and of course, the many eyes are great as well.
                     
A great sculpture, especially for your first one ^_^.

Thanks scrawly! The tongue is definitely the best part! I’m still surprised how it turned out for my first try.



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @theironfelix
This post was given a rating of: 0.9821942337757987
This post was voted: 100%

This so cool! I dig the concept sketch and anything that resembles a bit of horror. I like the sculpture. Definitely something I would collect and put on a shelf for proud display.

Aww thanks @adamada! Saying that you’d collect this critter is such a huge compliment!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Wow thus sculpture is very cool! Looks like a similar monster from a tv series i watched as a child...argh dont remember the name

Oh, no! I hate when I forget the name of something but it’s at the tip of my tongue. Hopefully you’re able to remember it.

Looks amazing, vermillionfox ! :O
The tongue and eyes turned out fantastic. As far coating - maybe check varnish, I have heard it works great. It gives acrylics a glossy finish as well. :)

Dear @hentikage! Thanks so much! I’ll look into some varnishes, thanks for the recommendation. :D

I love it, Foxi ! It kind reminds me of the egg I drew for Easter this year :D But with more sassy tongueness :D :D :D Greatly coloured also !

Ohh! Why can’t I remember that one? 😶 Haha, yeah this critter has a bucket full of sass!

Your sculpture turned out different but it is still stunning! It reminds me of a big walnut with blue tongue :) Not sure if this is accepted as a candy but it's definitely not gross :D

Thanks for the compliment delish! You’re right it goes kinda look like a walnut!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97