Homework for Steemit Art-School - Week 3 - Value Grouping & Still Life's!

in #artschool6 years ago

Cover-ArtClass3.png

So... many... shapes...

It is with great pleasure that I present to you, my fellow steemians, by homework for @beekart amazing and wonderful Art Class Week #3. And just in the nick of time as well...

Value grouping portrait

These were quite fun to do, if I had more time I would have loved to do some more, but for this post I only completed the required one. I also think I might have over-detailed the image... but hey, it is what is is now.

colface2.png

Still Life x2

Is this the real still life, or is it just fantasy!

First one I attempted to draw some nice apples, even though the image was in colour I tried to stick to rather draw it in grey-scale. I also tried to limit myself to a set amount of... yes... Shades of grey. I used a bit of a textured brush for this one, and in general the lines are fairly harsh (I avoided blending). I do however think that this got the message across, and I tried to match the tones in various places with the same shade.

colapples.png

Last but not least, an extra still life, a beautiful yellow rose. This one was a real... well bitch to complete, but it probably turned out to be my favorite one. In general I think I might have over-complicated everything for myself a lot by adding to much detail, but I seem to have a hard time of letting go. 😱 I made this one in colour, but also made a grey version with some Photoshop Magic.

colrose.png

As I said last time, this is an awesome experience and I urge anyone that reads this to join the Art School, it's free and you can really learn some valuable stuff here!

Thank you for reading!

Comments, questions and critiques are always welcome.
100% Original Content / Vote / Resteem

Have a wonderful day.
SkippyZA ^_^

Sort:  

Duuude! Amazing work! Thank you for participating in this weeks artschool! Just like last week you have me surprised by the quality of the work!

I think you have done a fantastic job mate! The rose ended up being so pretty! but i can also see that it was probably quite the hell to paint! :)

There is really much to critique here.. the color of the portrait face is a tad bit off.. but the values are good there,, which was the point of the exercise anyway.. so ..

Shit! :D I got nothing :(

If it is easy for you to do, feel free to take them a step further and start to blend the values together.. :o

Keep up the fantastic work! :)

Thank you for the feedback! I think i might just blend the rose. It did really start to look beautiful at some point. Excited for the nexr class. :D

Cool..I think I could try this..thanks for sharing @skippyza

You should definitely try this! :D

Wow these are great @skippyza!

Thank you, you should join the classes if you haven't already. :D

Yep yep I started this last week!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69425.69
ETH 3694.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.25