Entry for Artstorm Contest #23 - Sailing

in #artstorm6 years ago

Hey, guys! What’s up? :D

This is my entry for the artstorm contest by @deemarshall

I must say that the entries of some participants confused me because today's theme is "sailing", but for some reason there are drawings of candles. Well, I was going to do a weird drawing (a dolphin sailing a boat and a human jumping in the water like a dolphin, haha), but I thought this would look better :D

Imagen (27).jpg

This is what happens when I do not follow the lines and just fill the empty spaces with color, haha. Maybe the dolphin sailing would have been better. XD

As my internet service is horrible, the connection was cut again for 5 days, that's why I wasn't around. I hope there aren't more problems because in the last two weeks I haven't been able to participate in the comics contest by @cobmaximus because of this. Well, that’s all for tonight. Hope you liked it. Bye, guys! <3

Previous posts: (。・ω・。)ノ♡

26552895_1801508409971588_1315512688_n.jpg

Sort:  

I missed your art! I am so happy that you are back :) There is so much movement and strength in your picture! The candles are weird entries. I checked the translation and it's navigation so maybe people thought candlelight would help with that. Someone drew a birthday cake.

Aww, thank you! I missed your contest :D

About the candles, I checked the blogs of the people who drew that and they were Spanish speakers like me. I think what happened is that someone didn't read yesterday's theme and posted an entry with a candle. Maybe the rest did the same, they didn't read the post and were guided only by the candle that the first person drew.

That's the only logical explanation that I thought because sailing means "navegar", "navegando" or "navegación" in Spanish (depends on the use of the word in the context. If it is a noun or a verb) and it has nothing to do with candles.

Another possibility is an error in the translation. Sail means "vela" in Spanish and candle is written in the same way (vela). Those words in English are written differently, but in Spanish they are the same and the meaning is given by the context. But it would be weird since the theme was sailing no sail. Adding the suffix -ing would change the meaning completely.

Well, we finished the Spanish class, haha. Maybe you should put a reference image in your posts to help the participants. It's good to associate words with images :D

I did post a reference shot for a while but stopped because so many entrants just copied it with no imagination at all. Hopefully, yesterday's experience is a one-off.

really interesting post ,, i am happy with successful people like you

#spammer
You must change that behavior before it's too late. On this platform there are rules, follow them!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84