Happy Chinese New Year! Entry for Artstorm Contest #10 Non-digital Art

in #artstorm6 years ago

20180216_135641.jpg

Happy Lunar New Year Everyone! Welcome to the Year of the Dog!

This is today's entry into @deemarshall's Artstorm Contest for my original non-digital art, created in fifteen minutes. Below is my reference photo, found at shutterstock.

Screenshot_2018-02-16-13-20-22.png

I chose this one because it reminds me of the shiba inu from doge coin. I do have a slight bit of doge in my blockfolio and I totally love dogs!

This certainly wasn't easy for me to finish in only fifteen minutes! I loved the challenge though! My lines need to be straighter and the proportions more in proportion. :) Instead of only using a #2 pencil along with my color pencils, I would have used a marker to be able to more quickly fill in all the red! Using colored pencils requires much more time as it needs to be layered more in order to fill in the crevices of the paper I was using. I also would have erased my lines.

I do like the way the picture incorporates the white space as part of the work. Again, more time would have allowed me to fill in the background in order to make the white stand out.

Hope you enjoy it and follow @hashclouds for more!

Sort:  

hi your drawing was really cute heheh, i just upvoted you and resteemed your post :)

This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your friendly @eastcoaststeem ran by Steemian @chelsea88

Thanks so much!

You will laugh here I hope. As I scrolled down your entry and saw pic 1, I thought it was a handbag, lol. Soon realised my mistake. A cute dog, thank you :)

HaaHaa! That is exactly what my friend said! I really do need to work on the proportions. A doggie handbag perhaps? :)

Hi @hashclouds, cute doggie 🐶. Trust me your art will get better with all the practice you’ll have. Hope your Chinese New Years night is wonderful!

Thanks for the encouragement! I think I need a lot more than 15 minutes. :)

I used to say the same thing to myself when I started. I actually drew the same thing four different times because I liked the design. I found out keep it simple and add shadows for realism. Bright colors, and you might try using a black “fine” point retractable sharpie pen. There very affordable. Love working with colored pencils like you did here. If you could ever afford it Derwent or Prismacolor brand of colored pencils are worth the investment. You get what you pay for. Cheap colored pencils are very hard to work with to get those vibrant colors, many times destroying the paper. I hope this encourages you more. Don’t give up you’ve got talent friend! Love your personality your fun.

Thanks so much! I do have some prismacolor and love them! But, I also have a lot of cheaper pencils that I really shouldn't be using. I do have some markers and sharpies, too! I definitely need to work more on the shapes and get them "right" before I go further.

You got a 3.81% upvote from @mercurybot courtesy of @hashclouds!

Release the Kraken! You got a 10.83% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @hashclouds!

Congratulations, your post received 7.41% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @hashclouds! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 85% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

You got a 14.49% upvote from @inciter courtesy of @hashclouds!

Congratulations @hashclouds! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65231.30
ETH 2943.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66