The Last Flight. Pen Drawing

in #artzone6 years ago

A decaying dying angel of sorts just finished his last flight, surrounded by the faces of souls.

TheLastFlight_LARGE.jpg

I did this back in college in 2011. It was for an angel (ish) art show that never went through! I had forgotten about this piece until recently. Last week I had work in a group art show, and now this coming weekend there is another group art show! I'm not used to this much public display. The reason why I'm saying this is because I wanted to display some new work and look around at the older work I still have. I came across "The Last Flight". I thought to myself PERFECT I was not able to display this years ago so now I will.

TheLastFlight_detail1.jpg

Detail 1- The head with broken halo.

TheLastFlight_detail2.jpg

Detail 2: Some of the faces in the background representing the souls.

I should clarify that I'm not religious in anyway, I certainly don't think differently of anyone that is religious either.

I'm excited for the show this weekend. This will be 1 of 6 pieces that I'm displaying for sale. It's an art show/Party/Fundraiser in Chicago.

In case any of you are from Chicago here is the event:
Friday June 1, 7-12pm
Saturday, June 2, noon - 11pm
Voice of the city
3429 w Diversey Pkwy

Thanks for taking a look.

Sort:  

wow, this one is so so grim * ___ * that pose is very expressive and all the tiny faces, the weight of their accumulated souls seem to weigh heavily on this angel .... aaaaah

beautiful work, @achristopherart~

upvotes and resteems

Best of luck to you with the Chicago (my home town) fundraiser. I used to do a lot of art fairs there, but not recently as I have lived in France now for a long time.

Nice! I would move to Spain (Madrid) in a heart beat if I could easily.

wow, it really looks so messed up :o
amazing draw, it hits you with the feeling :)

Amazing detail as usual. I love coming across old work, it always lets you see where you were coming from and helps you to see where you might want to go.

Incredible the different expressions that have the faces of the souls.
There is happiness, sadness, anger, pain ... I like how you express this!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Ink-redible.

great stuff!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63576.35
ETH 3066.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80