Sometimes, AngryMan Still Picks up a Brush and Paints

in #artzone5 years ago (edited)

Since I promised my endearing followers earlier today that "I'll BE BACK..." after my nap, I aim to keep my reputation as a dependable old coot in tack...

Problem 'ALMOST' was, that I drew a blank at the keyboard, causing me great pain and consternation. That is until the thought poped into my head, "Hey...why not post a painting of yours? That'll save your ass from savage retribution by the masses here on Steemit."

So, here's one I picked out from my photo file for all of you to pick apart with your cynical eyes and hearts :~)

This is an 'Oil on Board' of me holding my son in a rocking chair many years ago; executed from a photo taken of us. I first rendered it as a monochromatic painting in blue tones.

About a year ago, I began to 're-work' some of the paintings still in my possession, and this was one of them. I'm not sure if it's 'finished' or not...I do suffer from that "There's something I need to change or add" recurring thoughts that a lot of artists have.

Anyway, this is just a different kind of post to show you all that I AIN'T just an old MUG from the streets of New York City who ran around with mobsters and hooligans of every description, causing chaos... Sometimes I stayed home...kept to myself, to escape the world outside.

Listen, friends...I'm outta here before I get you guys all teary eyed and wimpy.

See ya when I see ya; as always.

Ciao


Another Attempt at Artistic Articulation From the Mind of @AngryMan on Steemit, March 8, 2019

Sort:  

an old MUG from the streets of New York City who ran around with mobsters and hooligans of every description, causing chaos

Some reason I am thinking finding forester :)

I like the painting, the hand feels a bit long fingered but you did run with the mob so that could be it, honestly though I wish I could paint. Drew a bit and broke the pen and almost burnt the hosue down. Ok not burnt down but the paper sure got a good rogering.

Overall it is a nice homey painting and your colours lend to the old photograph maybe film prints and the greens to the light conditions. realistic tones. Nice !tipuvote 0.2

Thanks for commenting @smokingfit .

I like the painting, the hand feels a bit long fingered but you did run with the mob so that could be it

Spoken/penned like a true Art Critique 'r :~) Yes, I have to agree with the 'longish' fingers thing...Unfortunately I didn't notice that oddity early enough in the process to 'easily' make a correction.

If you look closely..you might notice that the problem was worse - which I managed to slightly improve, but that made for a problem 'matching' the flesh color on the hand and arm.

One day, I might make the time consuming effort to correct the perspective, but it would involve a lot of blocking out, re-painting the arm, hand and fingers...Thennnnnn...trying to match all the surrounding colors or re-color almost everything.

I've been told that I have big hands, but I think those people mean, 'thick' hands from all the manual labor and weightlifting I've done for many years; my fingers are definitely 'not' long...

In 3d the one guy once said the problem with photo realism that many have is that it is too perfect. I think the painting as it is now has just the right amount of blemishes and faults. It just works the big hands and tiny baby forever to be held by it metaphorically speaking.

Posted using Partiko Android

:>) .... Well, you may be right my friend. It's been said that, "A flaw stays longer in the mind, than blind perfection"


@angryman, sorry to see you have less Steem Power.
Your level lowered and you are now a Red Fish!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Your level lowered and you are now a Red Fish!

NO SHIT Sherlock...

'YOU'RE' sorry...??? Well, I'm sorry that I had to sadden you by Powering Down from Minnow in order to buy votes for myself and 'OTHERS' here, because vote values SUCK.

This post is supported by $0.13 @tipU upvote funded by @smokingfit :)
@tipU voting service always profitable, instant upvotes | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95