Comic book Cover Art. “Frankenstein Samurai”

in #artzone6 years ago

Here's the cover for a Frankenstein Samurai. i always draw the cover of the book last because i'm always a much better artist by the time i get to the end of a book and the cover is what draws the reader in before they even decide to read the book so i want it to be as good as possible. For this cover I didn't draw a ton of characters. i decided to really focus on atmosphere. sometimes where the character is can be more important than what they're doing.
172E05F5-DB74-407B-8D1D-6A842291CBCF.jpeg
I hate having to rehashing the same info over and over again but, it’s important for determining the authenticity of a post. So let’s get to it.

The process for most for my art stays pretty consistent from piece to piece

I start off by simply penciling the best i can. i start with a rough sketch in blue color pencil then i lightly erase it and pencil over the residual blue to get the cleanest sketch possible.

The sketch took about 4 days and it was done on 11x17 bristol board art paper
(standard for comic book portfolio's)
9BE2F4E3-02B4-4FE5-921E-83420DAE3648.jpeg
After the sketch is finished I take it to Staples to have it scanned on a big flat-bed scanner.
i have them make a high-res pdf file for me (300 dpi). I take that file home and work on it in Photoshop.
The rendering consist of a 18-20 layer process that takes about 10-14 hours
B32E84DC-3B6C-4B50-A3AF-999B391142DE.jpeg
Art done by me Chris Gooding
Story Written by my bro Ethan Harmon
I wanna post the full comic here later but, I need to talk it over with Ethan first. Fingers crossed.
That’s it for this post.
Thanks for stopping by. Till next time ✌️

Sort:  

Amazing job , good luck.

Thank you 🙏

I would imagine another reason why you save the cover for last is by then you have a better idea of what the main idea of the story is so you can draw a cover that represents that. Knowing which characters have prominence is helpful. And, as you say, having a handle on drawing them along with the scenery they will be in is important.

Will Frankenstein Samurai be a one off, a short series, or ongoing?

Mostly likely a one off. Ethan and I just don’t have a lot of time to put into it these days.

Isn't that always the way? Never enough time to do the things you want to do versus all the time you have to spend doing other things, some necessary, like sustaining life, others, not so needful, but still time consuming and probably important to someone. It's kind of frustrating.

Well, thanks for sharing the look and the process. I think it looks great.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94