Patriotism 101: until death do us part

in #artzone6 years ago (edited)

photo (1).JPG

Why do we leave everything behind, board a military transport, and go overseas to live in abject conditions and fight a war?
Why do we harbor such love for a country so flawed?
Why does love drive us to sacrifice everything?
These questions have no rational answers but define human existence.
This piece merely seeks to encapsulate those feelings: a life that sometimes needs just one other to invest it with meaning.

Colored pencil on paper for the figures. The waves are real texture tinted gesso and watercolor. The background is watercolor and conte.

Sort:  

a nice love story

That one person could well be Lady Liberty.

The best answer to the questions may be a simple: BECAUSE

In his or her heart, a real American knows.

No amount of words will explain to those who do not already know.

Well done, @corpsvalues.

The picture was another honeymoon picture... ex wife and I on the beach in Hawaii. But halfway through the meaning of the piece changed for me and all of a sudden i was drawing stars and stripes and realizing that the same feeling of blind love that would send me charging off without asking questions and accepting difficulties and tribulations was the same feeling that sent me packing off and going to war. I guess for me the piece feels even more powerful because I'll never forget that feeling of overflowing love with no stormclouds in sight so when it is visually married to my country's flag it becomes an icon for my entire life.
Its effect definitely isn't for everyone. The ex didn't like it, and her mother said she'd love to hang it up but only if I could get the flag off.
Thanks for the comment.

Thank you for the background info. That makes the image more compelling, knowing that your love for her was real and wrapping her with our flag personifies your love for Country.

The flag makes the image! Good for you, @corpsvalues!

Thanks @willymac I'm glad that the image spoke to you in the way that I hoped.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98