You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Genesis of an oil painting - my method.

in #artzone6 years ago

Don't you love process! I love process in my art as much (sometimes more)then the finished result.

You approach it in some ways like I do. I love to play digitally with various layers of colour and imagery. The computer has made it much nicer to play with composition and such.

When I used to be primarly a printmaker, I'd go from real world to digital to real world to digital many times before the final image was done and printed and screenprinted. All of it was fun.

Now with painting, many times the final piece remains digital, but I still do love to work with oils on canvas, but now I definitely play more with it on the computer before laying it out on the canvas and going.

Do you really paint oil onto your acrylic underneath? I mean I suppose gesso is acrylic and we paint our oil on that. If so, that is genius. I might have to try that myself. I much prefer oil for its colour and luminous quality and I am forever going back into a piece, so acrylic is too fast for me, but this is really an amazing idea.

Have you tried the water soluble oil paints? I haven't because I don't really understand them, but would love a critique of them from an actual oil painter who has used them.

I was right, too, I thought I felt a bit of klimt in there! I love taking inspiration from my favourite artists. I love the portrait painters of the 19th century and often am inspired by their use of light and brushstroke. I love that art is a celebration of our own vision as well as an homage to those we love that painted before us.

Sort:  

Thank you @donnadavisart. I think we all have our own very personal methods, on the computer and on the canvas. You can always paint in oil over acrylic, since acrylic dries quickly and attains its eternal condition in a half hour or so. The contrary would not be possible. Once you have moved on to oil, you can't go back to acrylic because oil dries very slowly and the acrylic on top of the oil would crack as the oil dried. When I move to oils, I start doing veils of white and building up of form with white; otherwise the glazing would make everything too dark. After each glaze I scumble in whites. I use a medium and emulsion that I make myself; the recipes were done by my teacher. I haven't tried other methods because I feel at ease with my technique and it does what I want.
There have been such fabulous painters before us who have left us great work to inspire us and to aspire to!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64172.03
ETH 3144.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85