Snake & Science Original Artwork

in #artzone5 years ago

Here is the last steps of my snake drawing, which is a christmas present for my cousin.
(And Here is the first part - constructing the sketch and lineart!)
Now for the colors!

20181204_155555.jpg
plantane

The drawing is made on some very thick handmade paper from Nepal.
I colored it with watercolor pencils.

20181204_160340.jpg
grass flowers

20181204_161902.jpg
the scales of the snake. Drawn with normal colored pencils (non water soluble)

20181204_164520.jpg
starting to color the snake in shades of blue, green and purple. The paper is so long that I had to turn it upside down :) The symbols ares for philosophy and physics, since my cousin is write her PhD in physics and philosophy

20181204_190827.jpg

20181204_192659.jpg
color pencil done, then it just need some water!

20181205_121541.jpg
Drawing done, and here it is in daylight! (we don't have much on that these days in Denmark!)

Thank you for stopping by! <3


@frejafri

20180516_002249_0001.png

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

SteemArtistsBanner_72dpi.png

Sort:  

That is a very long and colorful snake! Good job! I thought I was seeing my name being painted with that letter L. Yes, my real name starts with letter L. 😊

I wonder how big the paper is. I suppose the painting is intended for a wall decor, is it? And why snake in particular as a gift to your cousin?

Thank you! Yes it is intended for a wall decor, it is about 25x50cm :)
To be honest I think I saw a while ago a beautiful painting of a snake and it catched my attention and inspiration, and then I just thought it fitted really well to a long piece of paper and to the symbols of science and knowledge, while also being a symbol of strong feminine energy, which fits perfectly to her!

Oh, I can only imagine how lovely it will look on a frame hanging on the wall. 😊

Now that you mention it, yes, I agree. It is a symbol of strong feminine energy. Your cousin is blessed to have you thinking about her. 😊

Big congrats on your curie vote @frejafri. I am so happy to see a fellow @steemitmama succeeding and in the limelight.

You are so talented. I know your cousin will love it. The color palette is really pretty, and though the focus is the snake, you sure have a good way with the greenery.

Thank you! My first cure vote on an art post, so didn't expect it, but I am very honored! <3

You deserve it with this piece and I hope you will post more! Big congrats again :)

Hi frejafri,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

I like this art, it looks like a scroll painting that can be hung on the wall nicely :D.
                         
Congrats for your curie vote ^_^.

thank you, my first curie vote on an art post! :O I am kind of surprised but very honored! :D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

This is so amazing and has such an illustrative 19th century bookplate look that I love! Lucky Christmas for someone.

Yay, I am so happy you say that, I was aiming towards that look :D Thank you!

You have a long and colorful snake @frejafri. Thank you for providing your sketch post. I have visited it as well. It seems to me, it was an easy tasks for you to sketch it :P For me, it will take ages to complete purely the sketch part. I love the way you color the snake, it sooo colorful. is it a king cobra? It very thoughtful of you think of homemade and 2nd hand goods as a present. It more meaningful in this christmas.

Is there any meaning or reason for you to draw this snake?

Thank you! It is a snake of imagination - no particular kind :)
Well the drawing is a gift for my cousin who studies philosophy and physics, and the snake is in many cultures representing knowledge and science while also being a symbol of feminine energy, so to me it fits very well to my cousin :)

I learnt new thing from you today. I didn't know that snake represented so many things. Very thoughtful of you to draw snake as a gift to your cousin.

We always treat snake as a dangerous reptile. I still remember in my parent house, because behind was a small forest, it always has small snakes wondering around our yard. My parent always use sulfur to chase them away.

Well I guess it is a dangerous reptile also! I think people through time has always had a certain respect for snakes because they are dangerous and powerful, so they got a lot of mystical meanings attached to them!

It really amazing on how our ancestor study and believe nature‘s power. And luckily the believe still inherited until today.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for presenting this beautiful drawing, like that you combined ordinary and watercolor pencils, both different mediums make their own feature and make a drawing unusual. I have never heard about such handmade paper from Nepal. But many good quality papers for watercolor they are specially produced so I assume your paper can tolerate water very well. Great that you added those symbols too.

Thank you! Actually it sucked up the water like a sponge, and wasn't that suited for drawing (and especially erasing!) on, but it is so thick and beautiful, almost fabric like, that it is worth the extra struggle ;)

Really nicely done, @frejafri ! The step by step is very nicely laid out, as usual :D

Congrats for curie, also !

Thank you! Yes I am quite excited since this is my first curie on an art post! ❤

What a lovely Christmas present for your cousin! And your idea to put the symbols from her study is great too! How did you get a paper that was handmade in Nepal? Can you purchase something like this online?

It's a very nice drawing. I like the colors that you chose for the snake. They are normally a bit scary but yours look cute :)

Thank you for sharing and have a great weekend!

I bought it in Kathmandu in this little beautiful paper shop! :) I don't know if you can buy it online, but I think I remember approximately where the shop was, if you ever swing by kathmandu (I'd definitely recommend it!) 😜
Thank you!

Hahaha, if I ever go to Kathmandu, I will let you know ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10