Painting Take on Me song from a-ha | Step-by-Step

in #artzone6 years ago
Hello steemians, today I'm reaching you with a new series of drawings I'm working on, based on my favorite musicians and music videos. In this step-by-step I'll show you the process of the first piece based on the "Take on me" music video from a-ha, a Norwegian band from Oslo who rocked starting in the 80s.

take on me thumb.jpg

Before stepping into the process, I need to say that the reason I chose this song goes back in time. It is one of my all-time favorite videos and songs, plus it is very significant for me because my dad loved that song as well, and listened it a lot when I was born. Also, the creative take on the video was inspiring for me and introduce my love for drawing and comics.

Tools: iPad Pro, Procreate


Step 1: Sketch
Sketch.jpg

Before deciding the sketch, I started with another idea which can bee sen on my speed art video at the end of the blog post. At first I couldn't get the right position for our young Morten Harket, so I changed the point of view and eventually got comfortable with the result. I did the sketching in blue this time so I won't get confused with the black inking.

Step 2: Frontal inking
Ink 1.jpg

There's a scene from the video when the girl sees Morten from a window (or comic vignette) in his real form. I thought this was really cute. Inking needed to be done separately, dividing the girl from Morten who's going to be painted directly on the next step.

Step 3: Painting Morten
Inkcolor.jpg

The coloring style is pretty plain, but expressive. I don't think he resembles 100% young Morten (he was such a cute guy) but I tried my best until I got the perfect expression.

Step 4: Fillings and textureIlustración_sin_título(4).jpg

After painting Morten, I used two tones of grey fillings to make more dimension and atmosphere. And for the girl I used a plain white fill to highlight she's like also made of paper like in the video. The final touch was adding a tv screen texture for a more retro effect.

Result
take_on_me__a_ha___gabee_carrera_by_gabeecm-dcj15lg.jpg


Check my speed art video below for more details

Hope you have liked my art.

Please remember to upvote or comment if you like my content, this will help me to grow and study my theme choices for making quality content.


Follow my Social Media

Art Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/gabeecos/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/GabeeCarreraArts/
Tumblr: http://gabeecarmon.tumblr.com/

Sort:  

Hi gabeecm,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you very much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54