🎨 Space-Warp Machine - original painting + drawing

in #artzone6 years ago

But thought is only a reaction, a response of memory and thought breeds time to cover the space between what is and what should be. The what should be, the ideal, is verbal, theoretical; it has no reality. The actual has no time; it has no end to achieve, no distance to travel. The fact is and everything else is not. There is no fact if there's not death to ideal, to achievement, to an end; the ideal, the goal are an escape from the fact. The fact has no time and no space.

-- Jiddu Krishnamurti's Notebook

Space-Warp Machine, 2010

Acrylic on fiberboard
25 x 50 cm / 9.84 x 19.69 in
Private collection / USA

Giclée prints: http://gric.at/shop/prints.htm
Posters: https://www.posterlounge.co.uk/artists/peter-gric/

Details:

IMG_0913.jpg

IMG_0914.jpg

The drawing:
2014-08-12 Raumkrümmungsmaschine.jpg
Zoom in

Space-Warp Machine 2014-08-12

Ink on paper
25 x 44.5 cm / 9.84 x 17.52 in
Private collection / Germany


Thanks for upvoting and commenting!


www.gric.at

Sort:  

I have noticed a curious sensation that I get while observing your artwork. Well, my interpretation at least. The bodies 'trapped' in the woody looking structures feels like a visual manifestation of the 'normal' perception that we have as humans that we're bound and constrained by the habit patterns of the mind.

It's funny because I would have had a completely different perspective 10 years ago before intensive vipassana/concentration meditation practice.

To me, the artwork personifies a strong sense of being stuck because of an incorrect perception of solidified self. But of course I am projecting. You probably have a completely different idea about it!

I hope that didn't sound like a pile of nonsense.

@nuthman, your thoughts absolutely make sense to me. I see as one of the biggest challenges of our human experience the way how we perceive and deal with our past and memories. The older we get the heavier our past experiences seem to constrain us. It's like the past is clogging our perception of reality, limiting our creativity, rendering us rigid and inflexible. Most people don't deal with it at all, they just petrify. Others confuse letting go with destruction and in their attempt to free themselves they keep burning and destroying everything in their lives they believe is restraining them. I believe the only way to free oneself is to deeply understand that the only reality is the present moment.

Absolutely! One of the first things that I noticed when I started to seriously investigate my reality was how difficult it is to stay with the present moment - and how peaceful it feels to just to exist right now. And of course, as you said - this instant is all that really exists.

And yes, I wholeheartedly agree with you on how past experiences constrain us. When I was a kid, it was as if the negativity of the world just bounced right off of me. I happily continued on with whatever I was doing, just to show people that they were wrong. The world relentlessly tries to beat the creativity out of you until it finally starts to chip it away. You ever notice the bizarre satisfaction that people get when they tell you that you'll fail at something - and then you do? "I told you so!"

I suppose it's the whole misery loves company thing.

I think my current goal is to try to deprogram my mind in an attempt to process information like I did as a child. Insight Meditation seems to be leading me in that direction. More than anything I would just love to get back that feeling of wonder, creativity and excitement about life that I had in my youth.

The exhausting back and forth between reliving the past and panicking over the future seems to be at the root of all suffering and misery in this life.

Very cool! You have an exotic vision.

Wow I love this Masterpiece 💕

The mounting and framing is genius. The work, of course, transports and gives me hours of 'story'. Bravo, sir, bravo.

Thank you Donna!

Sehr atmosphärische Arbeit und spannendes Zitat. Das lange Format funktioniert sehr gut und cool, wie die Frau so natürlich in der Architektur eingeflochten ist. Angenehme Farben. Auch schöne Zeichnung.

Danke Tom!

Always impressed with your details! :D

Incredible painting man.

Thank you!

awesome! what dimension is this? :)

You mean the format of the painting? 25 x 50 cm.

no, i mean the subject, it looks like higher dimensional geometry

The geometry is based on a truncated hexacosichoron (600-cell)– a regular 4-dimensional polytope.

very cool!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67