drawing in curved spaces #4: La Place du Ménage (Hobo Sketchers weekly meeting)

in #artzone6 years ago (edited)

thumbnail.png

The Story

Saturday afternoon the Hobo Sketchers Commando had their weekly drink & draw meeting. Weather was just perfect, 23 º Celsius and a clear sky. We decided to shoot our pencils against an architecture location. So we choose la place du Ménage of Angoulême.

As if we were a secret command of the special forces, we occupy the square strategically. The square has a trapezoidal shape with a big fountain in the middle. We sat down and occupy the perimeter, three Hobo agents sat down on the terrace, at twelve o'clock, according to my position, another two at three o'clock. A beer supply chain was then established between the terrace agents and the perimeter. I decided to sat in the border of the fountain.

"Captain Sphericus! Captain Sphericus! -that´s my hobo surname -"Could you draw a panoramic view of the place?"-one of my commando mates asked.
-With pleasure! -I answered.

Step one: tasting the curvature

Fortunatly, I always have a geodesic spherical grid in my sketchbook. Until those amazing lines do not grab into my mind, I am obligated to have one with me. Time to time. As in the next days, I will publish lesson 3 of my Curved Drawing Lessons, my devote reader, you will have access at a deep step by step tutorial of this kind of drawing.

I take my time watching the top of the building, trying to understand the inner rhythm of the shapes. As a necessary visual transformation is required, I begin to follow the geodesic lines according to my grid which was printed in the back of my paper:

equirectangular equiangular 75.jpg

geodesic grid in spherical geometry

I like to use a 0.3 mm Staedler mechanical pen. It is incredibly soft and obedient.

IMG_4304.JPG
building geometry

I make pause every ten minutes and try to have the big picture. Curved lines can give a lot of pleasure but the are extremely pickey.

step2: Inking

Once the geometry is drawn, next step is inking. For recall, take your time in building a correct geometry because it is not a good strategy to fix incorrect lines with the fountain pen or liner. As your mum or your dad may have advise to you: First things first! :)


inking2.png
Inking process

step3: balancing lights and shades

This is the most pleasant step of the process. Once the geometry is build, and the first ink layer rendered, you can take all your time to polish the details, keep in mind, always, the big picture, and trying to find the correct rhythm among every single feature. Remember, the Japanese proverb I read one time: The sum of us is greater than the individual parts.

The final outcome

final outcome2.png

Place du Ménage, FOV: 360º horizontal, 180º Vertical, surface: Sphere

Thank your for reading and have fun!

Other Curved drawing published:

Curved drawing lessons published so far:

Sort:  

very nice way how you are going towards sketching and the whole process

So I read everything and looked at everything (once I managed to stop being mesmerised by the grid! XD) and I still don't know how you managed to go from a bunch of arcs on a grid to fish eye lens ink drawing. But it doesn't really matter. The finished piece looks amazing and it was fun watching it coming together :)

thank you @ryivhnn! keep tuned to my lessons. I will go into the details in the next posts

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

wonderful, @javier.dejuan ! every lesson builds up a reader's knowledge in this topic <3 and the accompanying pictures are very beautiful <3

Wow impréssionant! Never thought of drawing that way. I shall give it a try. Truly inspiring content. Glad I bumped into you. I'm following of course!

your post are very informative :)
i want to keep an eyes in your future post as well and learn this much too
i'm starting following you ^^

very beautiful painting
@javier.dejuan

Dear Artist @javier.dejuan ! This post has been resteemed and upvoted from FineArtNow account ! See you soon !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61663.08
ETH 2893.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48