Double bear breakdown on Steemit

in #artzone6 years ago (edited)

I don't have to do this that often but occasionally a sculpture must be broken on purpose and glued back together. This avoids it happening to the customer.

Here is the end result of my creation:
IMG_20180608_160802888_HDR.jpg

Here I will share the process, starting off with when I "found" the bears or the blocked out stage. The wood is a 3 foot diameter cookie as we call it. Kiln dried white pine is the species.
IMG_20180601_160050670_HDR.jpg
It was in the kiln for 3 months and although it does a great job drying it. It doesn't take all the moisture out of the wood. So I will let it sit in the sun after the saw work is done:
IMG_20180602_132559111_HDR.jpg
IMG_20180602_132240028_HDR.jpg
The back side...

Now for the fun part, breaking it...
I had my lovely Erin record me breaking it into 3 pieces just so I can have a little extra for Steemit. Here's a gif of the breakdown:

Bear breakdown gif https://imgur.com/a/6wcllkl
I have been having trouble lately uploading gifs to Steemit, hopefully this works.

Here is after I glued it back together:
image

image
Torched it...
image
After I sanded the char off, now ready for paint.

image
After paint..
image
Here is the backside..
image
You can see there are still cracks in it, we call this character. It is the nature of wood.

image
I'll finish off this post with a picture of my creation and my handy little Steemit sign. Taken this morning just before sunrise.

I'd like to thank you all for following. It is a pleasure to be here on Steemit. I love what I do and I'm happy to share on this awesome platform.
I hope you enjoy seeing what I saw, if so feel free to upvote and resteem.
Thanks for looking

Sort:  

You got a 100.00% Upvote and Resteem from @ebargains, as well as upvotes from our curation trail followers!

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @ebargains by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 90% of the voting service's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the service's SP pool daily! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

We are also a very profitable curation trail leader on https://steemauto.com/. Follow @ebargains today and earn more on curation rewards!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-09T09:07:21
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 29.60/100.00
Total Photos: 5
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

You got a 4.19% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @jonatftforest!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Acha hai bhai jo bhi hai ..

Beware of those of us who see you're using Steemit incorrectly, you have been flagged. It's not difficult to read the platform's guidelines. Please educate yourself on proper posting etiquette

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86