One of My Original Character in a Steampunk Theme

in #artzone6 years ago

The following is a work that I do as part of a contest on a Facebook page, apparently I did not win, but I liked it very much, now I did the drawing without a background in that moment, this time I added a background to make it better.

First I started with the sketch and the idea of the drawing, it was Steampunk, so I adapted one of my original characters to that style, and more or less the idea I had in mind for the final drawing.

Arret Steampunk 00.jpg

Then I made the Lineart or inking, in the left image the sketch layer is active, and in the one on the right you can see the final inking.

Arret Steampunk 01-02.jpg

After the inking, I applied the base colors, taking into account the theme, try to avoid very flashy colors, and more according to metal and leather.

Arret Steampunk 03.jpg

The next thing was to place the basic shadows, which in the shading part of this drawing was the only thing I did, do not apply shadows of depth, or lighting for a final idea for the finish of the drawing.

Arret Steampunk 04.jpg

Although it is not easy to appreciate, I used a mask with black background behind the drawing to cover quickly and without errors the places that for different reasons have been empty.

Arret Steampunk 05, mascara negra.jpg

For googles, first use a mask in multiplication mode to give transparent effect.

Arret Steampunk 06.jpg

Next step use another layer in overexposure mode to give gloss effect and at the same time increase the transparency effect of the crystal.

Arret Steampunk 07.jpg

Here is the touch that I liked most about the drawing, applying a layer mask, this time in front of the character, in multiplication mode, and applying sepia gradient mode, I gave it the effect I was looking for, and here erasing with soft eraser in the most ideal places to highlight, is when I give it a "brightness" effect, and I preserve the tone of the Steampunk theme.

Arret Steampunk 08.jpg

Then a smoke / steam effect coming out of the machine elements of his clothing, giving the sensation of functioning.
Arret Steampunk 09.jpg

And for the final effect, the background, I did it with the mixture of two brushes and the color mixing tool, to give the sensation of different vapors, apart from using in different layers the overexpose color and hard mix mode, to increase the effect desired, and of course for the final finish my signature.

Arret Steampunk 10 Final.jpg

I hope you liked the drawing, I loved to draw it and try something new with my characters, it is very likely that I will do it more often, not only with my characters but with some of my favorite series, any opinion, I would be happy to hear it, Thank you very much !

Sort:  

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @artzone. Follow @artzone and get added to our voting list for valuable up-votes!

Thank you for tell me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66416.78
ETH 3082.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68