Inktober Day 8 "Star"

in #artzone6 years ago

Greetings Steemians

This time had no problem with visualizing what I should draw. This time the problem was fitting in time, which I failed, but I really hope that Inktober is more about consistency and improvement than about punctuality ;)

So, I present you my work form very late last night - "Star"
IMG_20181009_072501_516.jpg

As for the process:

  1. came up with the idead

  2. checked google images for photos of space suits for reference ;)

  3. took out my Sakura Pigma Micron 03 (earlier works were made with 05)

  4. When I draw directly with ink (no sketching) i firstly try to imagine whole drawing on paper, then I do some hover "drawings" with pen in places where i would place te main shapes (belive it or not it helps me visualize the proportions and composition)

  5. If the drawing is fairly simple i just draw, but this time I began with very light basic lines to not mess up too early:
    20181008_215539.jpg

  6. Then begin to move on with the main lines

20181008_221619.jpg

at this point it is still possible to fix some minor mistakes with thicker lines or with areas of black shadow, with cross-hatching or something like that:

20181008_225441.jpg

then background lineart and basic shadows
20181009_000050.jpg

finally took out sharpie pen and thick flat marker to blackout the space thing, and done 1:00 - finally able to go to sleep

IMG_20181009_072310.jpg

Took the photos in the morning, now posting form work...
Thanks for reading

Cheers

Sort:  

Amazing drawing, @longer <3 <3 <3 Love the body languages of these astronauts star collectors :D Your inking is so nice and clean * ___ * And I dont know how you do that even blackness for the sky... mine always showing the strokes of the sharpie pen... XD

Wonderful picture ! Congrats for curie :)

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

And the three terrorists are included I see!

Yep.
Have been on the topic of doing semi autobiographic drawing for some time now, (kinda like "realist comic") and somehow it blended in with inktober.
Cheers

I loved it, this year I have not been even been able to participate but though I wont be following the prompt or making everyday intending to resume the following days. Love the wip making of too.

Thanks. I think Inktober is more of a collective call for work/fun for all participating artists, then it is about sticking strict to the rules. Jump in even for a while ;)

There is so much great stuff here. Well done!

thanks, doing my best ;)

Hi longer,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Amazing idea! Catching stars! And they have already caught quite a few :) I like that you set your drawing in the space. It's very creative. I would never think of it but when I see it, it all makes sense :) Thank you for sharing!

Beautifully made I love your star shopping trolley and catchers, that is really interesting. But I am afraid that Big Star will not fit in the trolley, they have to carry themselves. I hope there is weightlessness there so it not to heavy. Great imagination adn perfectly done drawing :)

Wow, this is amazing I love it. This is why I love #inktober, finding new artists to love and follow on here. Great work! ink on!

Very kind of you, thanks :)

That's really striking! Funny how it's the blackness that makes it so. How long would you say it took you?

about 2-2,5 hours

Wow, I can't imagine being able to complete it so quickly myself!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05