Keys to the Cities: The Curiouser & Curiouser Piano

in #artzone6 years ago

During a 2 year stint in Palm Beach Florida, Amanda purchased a new piano from a local dealer named Kathy Kretzer. After talking with the owner, she found out that Kretzer funded and ran a charity event called Keys to the Cities. Local artists were to be given an old piano to do something creative with. Later the pianos would be positioned around town for the public to enjoy.

Amanda was chosen as one of these artists! So she went to work on designs, and I went to Home Depot for supplies.

IMG_1566.jpg
Rear view of finished piano

A whole lot of work went into the design and creation of this piece of art. Everyone had to submit their ideas for consideration. Here are the original rough sketches that Amanda submitted.

piano34.jpg
piano00.jpg

Of course, these drawings were submitted without actually knowing what the piano was going to look like that we would be actually working with; so the design changed somewhat over time.

piano02.jpg
A rendered sketch of part of the back panel scene

So once everthing was approved and the piano was delivered to us, I was on my way to Home Depot to get some plywood, boards and hardware needed to cut out out all of the extra bits like the doors, trees and back panel. There was a lot to be done before she could even start painting! Well, she did do an undercoat.

20130921_132656.jpg

20130921_132750.jpg

20130921_132716.jpg

20130925_141753.jpg

20130925_141807.jpg
Prepped and ready to start painting!

So from here she started to do all of the under painting. I didn't get a lot of photos of this part of the process as I was busy outside sanding some of the smaller detailed parts.

IMG_1099.jpg

IMG_1100.jpg

hatter-lowres.jpg

So we jump ahead quite a few hours. This thing is really starting to look great! The kids are going to love it. (And they did by the way!)

muisic-stand.jpg
The sheet music stand (I love this bit)

Now let's have a look at some detailed shots.

IMG_1450.jpg

IMG_1447.jpg

IMG_1454.jpg

IMG_1541.jpg

IMG_1487.jpg

IMG_1510.jpg

IMG_1548.jpg

IMG_1575.jpg

IMG_1579.jpg

IMG_1534.jpg

IMG_1488.jpg

IMG_1536.jpg

IMG_1485.jpg

insignia.jpg

IMG_1413.jpg

IMG_1347.jpg

IMG_1399.jpg

side.jpg

painting-back.jpg

IMG_1417.jpgAs always, Harvey helping in his usual manner

jessica.jpg
Amanda got into character for the event

And finally here is the piano at a temporary location where it was a huge hit with the public.

1457667_412170058912109_1745144955_n.jpg

Last but not least, here is a short video from the event. I may be a little biased, but ours was my favorite!

See this video and more on ArtActivate.com

My and Amanda's time was volunteered for this project and no profit was made by us. Please upvote and resteem to show your support for the arts!

Sort:  

That's so cool @nuthman! It came out really nice, all the woodworking is something I admire since everything I make is in the digital world haha. Check this out @beatking13!

Thanks! Amanda also has a masters degree in 3D Animation, but does that the least of anything, ironically. She can work wonders in ZBrush.

Yeah I really enjoyed the woodwork on this project. It was cool seeing my work being part of a public piece of art. I will check out @beatking13 as well

That is absolutely amazing! You are both extremely talented!

Hey! Thanks a lot!

I just found these photos of the piano earlier in the process, before it had any coats of paint on it. I thought I'd add this here in the comments.

I have upvoted this post to bring it to the top:

20130918_141256.jpg

20130918_141315.jpg

Here it is with the board tacked to the back so that we could trace the pattern in order for it to be cut out:

20130918_141341.jpg

Man, this so totally cool - and all the restoration work you did! Outstanding!
And no profit made! You got a golden heart. Congrats to both of you - and of course Harvey, he is adorable!
And I thought painting mailboxes for charity (way back when) was a big deal! Was a auction, and I got a tax receipt for it.
Got to resteem this!

Thanks a lot! Yes it turned out to be quite a job. We had to work on it between our paying work but it finally got finished.

And yeah hehe.. Harvey is a sweet little guy

wow, this is beautiful. I can imagine the amount of work put into this project in order for it to be a success. Thumbs up for Amanda, and you, of course. And Harvey, the cutie.

Thanks, @nonsowrites, it was a lot of hard work and effort but the results paid off.

It was originally supposed to go to a hospital for children, but it had to go in for repairs so we are hoping that it will eventually end up there. The kids really love it!

I am not even a kid but I am already in love with Amanda's masterpiece. You guys are doing great. I hope to do some charity work after I graduate in October.

Oh my gosh, this is adorable! I love the little cut out gothic doorway! Amazing teamwork too.

Yeah! The doors are my favorite part. Well, I made them so maybe that's why. Lol. Thank you for your comment

That is so cool and very creative. Thanks for sharing @nuthman.

Love the craftsmanship and artistic value in this

Thanks for looking. We were very proud of this one!

WOOW. an extraordinary design and idea. You're perfect in this. and a great share

Thank you, @artizm, very nice of you to say. We put a lot of hours into it and I think it was worth it in the end!

Really dreamy and beautiful work!

wooow, very beautiful, nice job :X

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59