Cthulhus call from the ivy | Cthulhus Ruf aus dem Efeu [EN/DE]

in #artzone6 years ago (edited)

detail.png


Right now I'm just running too many projects in my life and I want to introduce you to my latest passion.

Two days ago, unfortunately, we had to remove ivy from the roof of our garage, as it began to destroy the wall. That was a pity, because it looked really nice on that spot. After a few hours of work (my father did most of it) the trailer was bursting with branches and leaves. Ready for transport to the disposal point, which opens only on Fridays.


Momentan habe ich einfach zu viele Projekte in meinem Leben am Laufen und ich möchte euch meine neueste Leidenschaft vorstellen. Vor zwei Tagen mussten wir leider Efeu vom Dach unserer Garage entfernen, da es begann, die Wand zu zerstören. Sehr bedauerlich, denn es sah wirklich schön aus an der Stelle. Nach ein paar Stunden Arbeit (mein Vater erledigte den größten Teil) war der Anhänger zum Bersten voll mit Ästen und Blättern. Bereit zum Abtransport zur Entsorgungsstelle, die erst freitags öffnet.

trailer.png

However, the root did not get out of my mind, I noticed it before with its beautiful arms. When it got dark in the evening, I went to the trailer again and searched for it. Soon I was holding the thick, heavy trunk with the curved roots in my arms. And I knew I had to get out the big old Cthulhu (or just a squid) that hides in it!

Die Wurzel ging mir allerdings nicht aus dem Sinn, sie war mir schon zuvor aufgefallen mit ihren wunderschön verzweigten Armen. Als es Abends dunkel wurde, ging ich nochmal an den Anhänger und suchte danach. Bald hatte ich den dicken, schweren Stamm aus geschwungenen Wurzeln im Arm. Und mir war klar, ich muss den großen alten Cthulhu (oder auch einfach einen Tintenfisch) herausholen, der sich darin verbirgt!

ivy1.png

Now I sit on the terrace for two evenings and carve as much as possible with a simple kitchen knife. First I want to remove the bark, then saw off the upper part, round off the head, work out the arms ... and then? I dont know. Sanding? Paint? How to seriousely work with that kind of wood? If someone has valuable tips, I'd be very grateful. For example:

  • Which tool is appropriate?
  • How do I get the wood really dry?
  • May I touch ivy? (too late ;))
  • ...

Nun sitze ich seit zwei Abenden auf der Terrasse und schnitze mit einem einfachen Küchenmesser, was das Zeug hält. Zuerst möchte ich die Rinde entfernen, dann den oberen Teil absägen, den Kopf abrunden, die Arme ausarbeiten... und dann? Ich weiß es nicht. Abschmirgeln? Lackieren? Wie bearbeitet man so ein Holz ernsthaft? Falls jemand wertvolle Tipps hat, ich bin über jeden dankbar. Zum Beispiel:

  • Welches Werkzeug ist angebracht?
  • Wie bekomme ich das Holz richtig trocken?
  • Darf ich Efeu anfassen? (zu spät ;))
  • ...

ivy2.png

ivy4.png

ivy3.png

It's definitely a lot of fun to work analogously for a change. I will keep you up to date...

Es macht auf jeden Fall richtig viel Spaß, zur Abwechslung analog zu arbeiten. Ich halte euch auf dem Laufenden...

Thanks for reading! | Danke für´s Lesen!

Moving my babies | Umzug meiner Babies [EN/DE]

Sort:  

Great and amazing article @patschwork. Great to see that you are posting regularly!🤗💚💚💙

Thank you so much ♥ I try my best...

Surely, the Great Old One poisoned your dreams the nights before and drove you to find his blasphemous shape in the most unimaginable concepts... Now there sould be no rest for you, until you uncover his whole majestic shape! Ia Ia Cthulhu Fhtaghn!

WOW I'm really looking forward to seeing what you come up with this!

Thank you so much, @gabyoraa. It's a new experience for me, so let's see, what happens.

Hey - was für eine geile Idee! Ein Efeu-Tintenfisch! Wie wirst du ihm nachher gerecht? Kommt er in die Küche? Kommt er ins Bad? Oder in euer Aquarium?
Viel Spaß weiterhin - ich kann es mir vorstellen!
Lienem Gruß
Kadna

Liebe @kadna, vielen Dank! Das weiß ich noch nicht. Vielleicht auch vor die Tür als Begrüßung der Gäste :) Wir werden sehen...Liebe Grüße!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

omg @patschwork ! that is one amazing eldritch looking roots !!!! <3 i love it !!! very interested to see where this goes under your hands :D

Thank you, spider <3 let's see, where it's leading my hands...

Spannend was Du da rausgeholt hast. Und wenn man genau schaut, so ist der Tintenfisch ganz genau zu erkennen. Toll wie das mit einem einfachen Messer hingkriegt hast!

Ich danke dir! Ich muss allerdings auch gestehen, dass ich außer Rinde entfernen noch nichts geleistet habe. Die Form war schon vorher da :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Wow the roots look cool, I like the shapes they're like tentacles :D

Thank you, Sander :) They'll look even more like tentacles when I'm done with him one day. I'm carving every evening and my fingers hurt badly... :D

Hello @patschwork, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55