Moai sculpture - 120cm - sometimes size does matter

in #artzone5 years ago (edited)

Sometimes I sculpt.

This big guy was ordered by my wife's friend (She is my friend too, but she's my wife's friend even more)

momo.jpg

a5.jpg
TO make such a big sculpture you have to glue together 8 blocks of autoclaved aerated concrete (YTONG)
ass.png
And then slowly start removing unwanted chunks:

a1.jpg
a2.jpg
mo120.jpg
And then some sanding:
a2b.jpg

Interruption by commission supervision:
(the beer bottle is for size comparison only )

a3.jpg
a4.jpg

stage2.jpg
After mudding and painting it turned out he weighs over 100 Kg.
And he's waiting in my garden for his new owner to pick him up.
I've got time.
Moai's got time.
My dog watches.
it is over 7 years now...
I've got time...

momo.jpg

Sort:  

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

My brother built a siporex home about 15 years back and there were left over bricks I played around with carving. I am not much of a sculptor, or painter, or musician... you get the idea :D

I like the look of the finish of that piece.

Thanks Taraz.
If it comes to looks, after 7 years of changing seasons the moai matured, got wrinkles and mossy hair, here and there. He looks a bit like Tommy Lee Jones, now :)

You got a 38.67% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @piotrgrafik! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 16 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99