Digital Illustration - Ozymandias

in #artzone6 years ago (edited)

This is an illustration that I made figuring the antagonist in the Watchmen graphic novel - Ozymandias. One of my favorite graphic novels and movie as well.

ozymandias ESSE.png

Ozymandias is a billionaire retired superhero, fascinated by the egyptian empire and history, he decided to face crime adopting the greek name of the Pharaoh Ramses II. After he got retired, he created billionaire companies, since the branch of cosmetics to technology. He is considered in the Watchmen universe, the "Smartest man in the World"

ozy.jpg

(Here is Ozy's original design)

I started this painting with the idea of capturing his personality and his adoration by the egyptian culture.

My personal favorite spots in this illustration are the texture in the drapery and in the metal - I love painting these things.

1.png

2.png

3.png

5.png

6.png

Altought I know theres a lot of things that need fixing especially in the anatomy which frustates me a bit.

Here's an quick step by step:

I defined the pose, background (which I was inspired by another digital art, which I could not find the proper artist to credit) and started making the basic colors,

step.png

Then i've noticed had to exagerate on the shadow and in the light of the metal suit, because it was suppose to be on desert, so, a huge direct sun spot, which means strong shadows.

step 2.png

Finally, I aded an "athmosphere" composing of a sand blowing in the wind and an orange/red light because its almost a sunset.

step 3.png

I'm working on another illustration of him, probaly in the end of June it will be ended.

Sort:  

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Such a dreamy style and I love the orange and purple combination, well done.

Thank you a lot!

Nice, remenber-me some hero, great work.

projeto #ptgram power | faça parte | grupo steemit brasil

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55