🎨 BOGOMIL'S COURT

in #artzone5 years ago (edited)


BOGOMIL'S COURT

BOGOMILS COURT.jpg
acrylic on canvas, 20 x 28 inches - 51 x 71 cm, 1976
ZOOM 49f-small.png


This painting was sold to a Professor of my Alma Mater, the University of Lethbridge. One of the few pieces I know where they are (most from that period I don't). The image is from a scan of a photograph, so it has some flaws.

Method and Influences


Digging way down into my treasure chest of old artwork
I find this early piece where I used decalcomania,
influenced largely by the Surrealists, and in particular
Max Ernst

the link is to the website Visionary Hall of Fame, which I maintain

Aside from Dali, Max Ernst was one of my earliest influences. But in my heart, I had always carried the work of the Vienna School of Fantastic Realism, which particularly comes to the fore a few years after this (a example of it is my "signature" self-portrait, seen on the bottom of my posts as a link to my website).



DETAILS


BOGOMILS COURT-good200px-detail3-web1600.jpg

BOGOMILS COURT-good200px-detail2-web1600.jpg

BOGOMILS COURT-good200px-detail4-web1600.jpg

BOGOMILS COURT-good200px-detail-web1600.jpg


For prints , check mx Pixels Website: Bogomils Court

Also posted on WeKu



Visit my website



ART OF THE MYSTIC OTTO RAPP-web350.jpg


Grad May 82-TIME MASTER-450px.jpg
Graduation 1982 - with plastercasts from my face I used in a object box sculpture

About - Introduction on Steemit

Sort:  

Wow.
I never knew what decalcomania was.
The first surrealist painting that I connected with is a Max Ernst giant freaky bird creature. It's so cool. He must have used that technique on it.

I am also checking out Bogomil's Court before breakfast:) This is my coffee this morning!

Thanks - decalcomania is something I come back to time and again - it is a great shortcut to tons of fine detail that makes peeps scratch their heads wondering how on earth it was painted (I also use it on a sheet of plastic sometimes and fold it like a Rohrschach, then I can transfer it with acrylic medium to the painting and peel away the plastic when dry - if I do that on a board, then they can't figure out how I folded the board, lol) .
At times when I have no clue what to do, I start with decalcomania and then see where it takes me.
About Max Ernst you mentioned: I think I know the painting you speak of @tarotbyfergus - I just can't think of the title, otherwise I'd google it. I probably would find it rifling through images by him, but that could take ages: he was very prolific. A few years ago I saw one of the largest exhibitions of his work ever assembled, at the Albertina in Vienna.

I think it was called L'Ange du Foyer.
Ubu Imperator also reacted with me.
So cool...

I love how there's no way to really tell how big the creature is in L'Ange du Foyer.
It might be way bigger than a mountain, or maybe it's tiny!

When he was a child at the time his sister was born, his parrot died. Somehow he related the two events and many of his paintings have this mythical bird Loplop, his alter ego, in it.
Just judging from the perspective, L'Ange du Foyer is huge, I estimate big enough to give Godzilla a run for the money!
Ubu Imperator is influenced by the play Ubu Roi

You are a fountain of knowledge Otto!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by The Mystic from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

you wild one! resteemed!

thanks sweetie!

Congratulations @thermoplastic! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2500 replies. Your next target is to reach 2750 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @thermoplastic, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00