Generations

in #asapers6 years ago

IMG_6468.JPG

This is our granddaughter Kelsey. Yesterday Roger, @rwedegis, and I went to see her recital. She's 14 now and has been dancing since very young, not your "ok, I spent a year doing tap,jazz and ballet, so now I show parents and grandparents what I learned" type dancer, but an "So focused, practicing non stop, a stint in Boston, winning awards" dancer.

Yes, we are proud but a Grandmother ,who was adopted ,I wonder WHERE does this come from.

I sit in the audience and tears come down my cheeks. Tears of pride, tears for the beauty of her movement and tears from a glimpse of my past? and a glimpse of a legacy.

In the 90"s Roger helped me find my birth family and we all met. I was able to see where I get my idiosyncrasies such as hand gestures, the way I walk and even the strange way I purse my lips when thinking. (damn that wrinkle).

My Grandmother was, are you ready, the fat lady in a circus and hocked her diamond ring to go to New York City to be with the actors and actresses on Broadway. Story was she did perform with a chorus line so maybe that's the key. (laughing out loud right now at the thought) Her mother? I think ruled the roost but never heard about her dancing. Grandfather was from the Azores and not much is known except that my daughter can get the darkest skin come summer from just appearing in the daylight.

So who was the dancer? Or is it just that love of music that runs through us all. The rhythm, the movement. My children grew up with music on 24/7, we danced, we sang and now my daughter has the very best play list, all composed of that music. Our son plays guitar and sings in a band. And me, LOL, took drum lessons at 40, always dancing and my art.

Kelsey is the extension of generations. She is on that stage with so many women that have come before us and I've never been prouder.

Warmly,
Sheila

@asapers
@originalwork

http:s//www.sheilawedegisart.com
.

Sort:  

This is such a beautiful post @swedegis! I love the story of your grandmother too; not many of us have such a colorful past to pull from. I'm so glad that Roger helped you accomplish finding them all.

I also think music runs through all of us, but there seems to be more of it in your family tree. Your granddaughter has obviously grabbed some of those genes and called them her own. Of course you should be proud :)

Thank you so much Lynne. When my daughter Erin and I found out that my grandmother was the "fat lady" we both, at the same time, started working out with our arms. (we were in a car) lol lol Thankfully we skipped those genes, at least enough that we won't be joining a circus anytime soon. ;-)

hahaha I can just see the hysterical exercises going on :) Sometimes we're fortunate to have things skip a generation!!

Congratulations @swedegis, your post has been selected by the @asapers for a resteem and a feature in our brand new curation post. Issue 66

What does this mean for you? Well first an upvote from some members of the team, we are no @curie or @ocd but who is going to be unhappy with some extra upvotes. Also each post featured in the article will receive a 10% share of the SBD generated from the curation post.

Keep up the great work and please consider supporting the @asapers with an upvote and/or a resteem on the post you feature in. Please wait seven to ten days for payout.

Your friendly @asapers

Giving back A.S.A.P

Read Me ASAP.png

P.S. What a beautiful dancer your granddaughter is, it's amazing what perseverance, dedication and time can create. @insideoutlet

Thank you so much!!!

🎵🎶 your granddaughter is beautiful! What a fun back story you shared! Enjoy your sweet unique family! Much love, peace & joy to you all!

Thank you so much.. <3

My pleasure! It's nice of you to share your beautiful grandaughter and a bit about your lineage.

That’s beautiful, well said. Great photo.

Thank you so much!!

beautiful movement

Thank you, she really is amazing.!

Amazing! Dance is so fun - I miss those days very much. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you. I used to dance but not like that. A night out at a club..lol.. Could you see me leaping across the dance floor like that?? ahh, NO. LOL LOL

Not if you're old enough to have a 14-year-old granddaughter!!!
Saying that, I once read about a woman who upon retirement took up ballet! THIRTY years later, she was teaching as well, still dancing - and had turned down a proposal on the grounds that it would slow her down!

My oldest granddaughter is 27 so that gives you a good idea that I won't be a leaping. lol I do have a friend in her 80's that has kept limber and can do all sorts of things. I'm supposed to get a hip replacement from a bad fall in my 40's but not giving in quite yet.

Good on you! My mother's sister was water-skiing into her 60s - had to give it up after her hip replacement. I don't think she ever recovered from not being able to go on the water as she did her entire life.
My eldest son is 22.

I have heard people saying that hip replacements aren't the best option. I work through the stiffness and just started taking CBD oil and it's helping. Your poor aunt. I bet she was disheartened.
22...how nice. How many other children? My oldest, Erin is, cough, 48 and my youngest, a son, is 46. It flew by. Really, they are now older then me!!! ;-) I turned 71 this past March but thankfully I got the good genes so people are surprised. (I try not to even think about it)

Age is just a number...
I'm 45 myself. My mom was the youngest of her siblings, and is 67.
I have four sons - 21 (almost 22, lol - I missed a year), 20, 18 and 16. Two daughters 11 and 7. I know I'm old enough to have grandchildren now, but I haven't had to face up to it yet.

My mom uses CBD oil for her arthritis - especially after she broke her wrist a few years ago. She swears by it.

LOL, I was 44 when Erin had her daughter. I went through the "what should she call me?" stage until she was born then I was "grammy" all the way.

I love that you have a large family. Lots of laughs, heartaches, just come with the territory and great memories.

Love that your Mum uses CBD oil and loves it. I just started but so happy!!

I'm truly happy for your proud moment. I wish you many, many more :)

Thank you so much!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70391.42
ETH 3572.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74